PDA

View Full Version : Sorcerer - a few questions

Ed_Conn
12-19-2014, 10:45 AM
Hello,

I will be TR’ing shortly and I am looking for some help and answers, if possible.

To start with: I’m not a total noob, but nowhere near an advanced player either. I am completing my second life. Both lives were as a sorcerer. First life I was an elf sorc primary cold secondary air, which really struggled starting mid-way through heroics, I tr’d at level 20. This life is a human sorc primary air, secondary cold. My second was better. I have a lot of fun playing a sorc, but I still struggle with the class at times. My playing has been a mix of PUGs and solo. When I do solo I am usually on hard and over level so I don’t break my streak.

My intention is to build another pure sorc to work through Heroics on elite and into Epics probably on Hard. I expect to continue a combination PUGs and solo, with PUGs being more common since I will be able to open quests on Elite. I bought the warforged race for this life mostly to help with the self-healing, especially in Epics since I lack the Destinies needed for cocoon. I am looking at fire as a primary with air as a secondary. I’d also like to be more of a contributor than a hindrance in groups, but alas that may not be just build issues.

With that in mind.

I have read a lot of posts that fire is problematic in upper levels. Most of the posts seem old and maybe that isn’t the case anymore. How is fire in Epics? Is it useful, or am I better off using air as my primary? Or is this just a bad combo no matter what?

Are the SLAs worth it? The builds I have looked at that rely on them tend to get all the metamagics to beef them up. It seems like a big investment in APs and feats. Are they worth the costs?

Assuming the SLA’s are worth it, do Maximize and Empower stack on the SLAs? Or are there any of the metamagics that just aren’t worth it?