PDA

View Full Version : Downtime Notice: Wednesday, November 19th from 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM Eastern (-5 GMT)



Cordovan
11-18-2014, 03:37 PM
UPDATE: The game worlds have reopened! Thank you for your patience, and we will see you back in the game.

The DDO Game Servers will be offline for maintenance on Wednesday, November 19th from 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM Eastern (-5 GMT). Thanks for your patience, and we'll see you back in the game soon!

PuppiesAndRainbows
11-18-2014, 03:52 PM
;)Clever way to get of of the Weekly Wednesday Lunchtime stream Cordovan....clever

Cordovan
11-18-2014, 04:11 PM
;)Clever way to get of of the Weekly Wednesday Lunchtime stream Cordovan....clever

Actually, I'm hoping that we're able to get onto Lamannia, and if so, we'll be doing a U24 preview of some things!

phillymiket
11-18-2014, 04:29 PM
Thanks for info.

I hope this down time is being used for general performance issues.

The baby seems to be hiccuping a bit and needs a pat on the back.

Gratch
11-18-2014, 04:48 PM
Thanks for info.

I hope this down time is being used for general performance issues.

The baby seems to be hiccuping a bit and needs a pat on the back.

Yeah. Ghallanda was super lagfest in 50% of instances despite no obvious lag source last Sunday. Just unplayable blarghhh instance to instance. Hopefully they beatup and replace whatever hamsters died on the Saturday "hardware problems" and shoved their load on the HP calculator that took over running the server since that point.

madmaxhunter
11-18-2014, 05:13 PM
Yeah. Ghallanda was super lagfest in 50% of instances despite no obvious lag source last Sunday. Just unplayable blarghhh instance to instance. Hopefully they beatup and replace whatever hamsters died on the Saturday "hardware problems" and shoved their load on the HP calculator that took over running the server since that point.
I hope so also. Sarlona has been extra laggy of late. I think I know where the problem is coming from though. It's the Mabar Lagdragon. It was waiting to be unleashed at Halloween. It didn't. It waited a while to see if someone would catch the error and correct it. No one did. It has now sworn vengeance upon all of Turbine for the travesty.

Sardukar1138
11-18-2014, 07:56 PM
game is locked at "Intalling Pre-Reqs". Go figure.

Wireless_Joe
11-18-2014, 07:59 PM
game is locked at "Intalling Pre-Reqs".

As am I.

alancarp
11-18-2014, 08:07 PM
As am I.

Make it a trio.

Bammokk
11-18-2014, 08:08 PM
Same here. Tried reboot, running as admin and a few other fixes from previous threads. Nothing worked as of 20:05 Central.

MatrimDaved
11-18-2014, 08:09 PM
My entire static group can't get in :-(

theinsaneeraser
11-18-2014, 08:09 PM
Make it a trio.

same

alancarp
11-18-2014, 08:11 PM
Wow. Even Lamania is unreachable. Same symptoms.

Hobgoblin
11-18-2014, 08:12 PM
same

and more

cant get in on my alt account in just fine on my main

hob

Stormanne
11-18-2014, 08:14 PM
ditto, stuck at "Installing Pre Requisite"

Sarlona

IllOracle
11-18-2014, 08:15 PM
Add another to that list. Argo I wana play but you say no!
There is starting to be a lot of chatter in the tubes regarding stuck at "Installing Pre-Reqs."

theinsaneeraser
11-18-2014, 08:19 PM
"Installing Pre-Reqs." I can't even get to the log in screen.

afro
11-18-2014, 08:25 PM
I'm also stuck on 'Installing Pre-Reqs'. :(

alancarp
11-18-2014, 08:25 PM
Seems that all kobolds responsible for the sacking have been sacked.
All better.

theinsaneeraser
11-18-2014, 08:29 PM
Seems that all kobolds responsible for the sacking have been sacked.
All better.

yeah, seems so, I got on fine now.

CloaktheBard
11-18-2014, 08:37 PM
The DDO Game Servers will be offline for maintenance on Wednesday, November 19th from 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM Eastern (-5 GMT). Thanks for your patience, and we'll see you back in the game soon!

It's 8:33pm 11/18/2014 and I'm stuck at installing pre-reqs. If the downtime starts tomorrow, but it's happening now, who do I get mad at? How are the comments dated a day in the future? I have a fine grasp of time zones... What the fruk is going on?

Dj_Fisty
11-18-2014, 09:33 PM
It's 8:33pm 11/18/2014 and I'm stuck at installing pre-reqs. If the downtime starts tomorrow, but it's happening now, who do I get mad at? How are the comments dated a day in the future? I have a fine grasp of time zones... What the fruk is going on?

For once no issues here other then the normal raid lag. ROFL. ahhh watch i just jinxed myself..... i'll post back lol

Nestroy
11-19-2014, 03:01 AM
Just out of curiosity, Cordovan: Will another hotfix be applied too or do we just get a server cleanup? If hotfix, do we get some info on what is fixed during downtime?

Thx for info!

Hendrik
11-19-2014, 06:37 AM
Just out of curiosity, Cordovan: Will another hotfix be applied too or do we just get a server cleanup? If hotfix, do we get some info on what is fixed during downtime?

Thx for info!

Hopefully it is a hotfix for three exploits I sent in...

/crossesfingers

96th_Malice
11-19-2014, 08:59 AM
Oh well .... Looks like I can try out the new Battlefield 4 maps today I guess ..... Rumor has it there is a Bow in there now .... YAY !!

I am sure archers vs. guns is a bad idea

Great now I'm gonna be a gimp in BF4 as well !!

Cya in a few hours

DakFrost
11-19-2014, 09:04 AM
Hopefully it is a hotfix for three exploits I sent in...

/crossesfingers

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Sure they will, and monkeys will fly out of my....well, you know, it's not very likely.

Also, as a side note. Have they extended to downtime yet?

Monkey-Boy
11-19-2014, 09:11 AM
It's Windows Patches.

96th_Malice
11-19-2014, 09:14 AM
Speaking of Windows ... not to derail this thread BUT Microsoft has decided DX12 will only be compatible with Windows 8 ....

Guess the new PC is getting windows 8

On a side note ..... that's pretty lame

Hendrik
11-19-2014, 09:27 AM
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Sure they will, and monkeys will fly out of my....well, you know, it's not very likely.

Also, as a side note. Have they extended to downtime yet?

Well, seems like they did address one of the three before I sent my findings in...

Other two, one can hope...

moomooprincess
11-19-2014, 09:29 AM
My guess

Whatever piece of networking gear(NICs, servers, routers, etc) that broke last Thursday, that was bandaided, and was ordered, and then the bandaided part failed again on Saturday arrived on Tuesday.

That new gear is being installed.

There might be some new code sent in this fix/patch/release(if there is one), but with the rotten performance of Lamannia over the weekend, no one is sure if the code is really bad or if it was the networking gear.

With the new gear installed and operating, then the code can be better analyzed. I hope so, at least.

Cordovan
11-19-2014, 10:06 AM
Just out of curiosity, Cordovan: Will another hotfix be applied too or do we just get a server cleanup? If hotfix, do we get some info on what is fixed during downtime?

Thx for info!

This is maintenance only, nothing being changed in-game.


It's Windows Patches.

Among other things, yes.

Garix
11-19-2014, 11:05 AM
This is maintenance only, nothing being changed in-game.



Among other things, yes.

Hopefully your including the out of band patch MS released last night https://technet.microsoft.com/library/security/MS14-068

SymphonicTheory
11-19-2014, 11:30 AM
Sooooo...... whens everything coming back online....?

Nestroy
11-19-2014, 11:30 AM
This is maintenance only, nothing being changed in-game.



Among other things, yes.

Thank you for the info.

On a side note, I could not stop wondering there has not been any outcry so far that we have a server downtime today. Seems Wednesday is a good day for downtimes. Perhaps you guys at Turbine could stick with that day?

SymphonicTheory
11-19-2014, 11:34 AM
I disagree with the wednesday thing. ;P But I will keep my fingers crossed for servers coming back up in 30 min.

Monkey-Boy
11-19-2014, 11:37 AM
I disagree with the wednesday thing. ;P But I will keep my fingers crossed for servers coming back up in 30 min.

MS released a "patch your server NOW!!!" patch, that's why it's a Wednesday. :)

moomooprincess
11-19-2014, 11:38 AM
I disagree with the wednesday thing. ;P But I will keep my fingers crossed for servers coming back up in 30 min.

If my clock reading skills are correct, the servers are scheduled to be down another 1 hour and 23 minutes.

SymphonicTheory
11-19-2014, 11:43 AM
Turbine likes to play savior. tell em itll take 5 then when it takes 4 they look like gods ;P

Aelonwy
11-19-2014, 11:58 AM
Turbine likes to play savior. tell em itll take 5 then when it takes 4 they look like gods ;P

Actually Turbine doesn't do this enough, they need to tell us it will take all day so we'll be thrilled when its just 4 hrs. Usually happens the other way around they say it'll be 4 hrs and then it goes over time a couple hours.

Sylvar_Foxx
11-19-2014, 12:18 PM
I don't know if announcing a time frame for any maint is safe really. I've seen times in other games where if the maint ends before schedule, there's nothing short of a hallelujah chorus going on. If maint goes over time, you almost need to get police involved due to the rioting.

I know of one company though that runs quite a few MMOs that actually gave up announcing time frames due to the extremes of that exact scale. "No ETA" ended up becoming their policy. At the same time though, unless there was an emergency maint, their maints are scheduled every week at the same time, so I guess there'd be that difference. Or does DDO actually have a regularly scheduled maint that I've just not noticed?

rohmer
11-19-2014, 12:18 PM
Speaking of Windows ... not to derail this thread BUT Microsoft has decided DX12 will only be compatible with Windows 8 ....

Guess the new PC is getting windows 8

On a side note ..... that's pretty lame

This is not true. Somebody at AMD spoke without knowledge.

Aishana
11-19-2014, 12:19 PM
Actually Turbine doesn't do this enough, they need to tell us it will take all day so we'll be thrilled when its just 4 hrs. Usually happens the other way around they say it'll be 4 hrs and then it goes over time a couple hours.

This. They need to start giving themselves a buffer zone of an hour or two instead of constantly extending their downtimes...

96th_Malice
11-19-2014, 12:20 PM
This is not true. Somebody at AMD spoke without knowledge.

Makes sense .... as that's where I saw it

TY

rohmer
11-19-2014, 12:22 PM
Makes sense .... as that's where I saw it

TY

WEll, I should say with a caveat, it MAYBE true, may not be. Microsoft hasn't commented on backwards compatibility AFAIK beyond "It will work on a lot of current video cards"

diasho2
11-19-2014, 12:35 PM
Yes this is an update and an update on your pc may only take a matter of minutes or even seconds depending on your computer. However, speaking as someone that has updated servers many times, updating a server us much more complex than your pc. That complexity increases the more user accounts, and the more changes are involved in the patch. After reading what Microsloth put on their site, which I can promise is heavily sterilized both to prevent panic and in hopes that every moron with a laptop and an ax to grind won't go attacking servers using this method using Microsoft's own site as a "how to" of sorts.

Just relax and know that while it sucks to be out of game it is much better that they take their time and get it right, than to rush it and be back here again.

moomooprincess
11-19-2014, 12:36 PM
Uh oh, my extension sensors are beginning to sound an alarm.

World Status has changed from DOWN to CLOSED.

Nestroy
11-19-2014, 12:44 PM
Uh oh, my extension sensors are beginning to sound an alarm.

World Status has changed from DOWN to CLOSED.

What are the offivial bet odds there will be an extension by now?

DakFrost
11-19-2014, 12:46 PM
What are the offivial bet odds there will be an extension by now?

3720 to 1

relenttless
11-19-2014, 12:46 PM
Yes this is an update and an update on your pc may only take a matter of minutes or even seconds depending on your computer. However, speaking as someone that has updated servers many times, updating a server us much more complex than your pc. That complexity increases the more user accounts, and the more changes are involved in the patch. After reading what Microsloth put on their site, which I can promise is heavily sterilized both to prevent panic and in hopes that every moron with a laptop and an ax to grind won't go attacking servers using this method using Microsoft's own site as a "how to" of sorts.

Just relax and know that while it sucks to be out of game it is much better that they take their time and get it right, than to rush it and be back here again.

Jesus...thats a bit wise.....far too sensible a reaction...

rohmer
11-19-2014, 12:48 PM
Jesus...thats a bit wise.....far too sensible a reaction...

I demand 100% uptime, every down time we experience I lose the ability to establish more NerdCred(tm)

rohmer
11-19-2014, 12:50 PM
I demand 100% uptime, every down time we experience I lose the ability to establish more NerdCred(tm)

There are 641 more seconds of down time window, I don't think I can make it.

SEND... CHEEZY... POOFS... DARKNESS... CLOSING.... IN...

apacheizm23
11-19-2014, 12:58 PM
Yes this is an update and an update on your pc may only take a matter of minutes or even seconds depending on your computer. However, speaking as someone that has updated servers many times, updating a server us much more complex than your pc. That complexity increases the more user accounts, and the more changes are involved in the patch. After reading what Microsloth put on their site, which I can promise is heavily sterilized both to prevent panic and in hopes that every moron with a laptop and an ax to grind won't go attacking servers using this method using Microsoft's own site as a "how to" of sorts.

Just relax and know that while it sucks to be out of game it is much better that they take their time and get it right, than to rush it and be back here again.

Microsloth.. I like that. haha :)

moomooprincess
11-19-2014, 12:59 PM
There are 641 more seconds of down time window, I don't think I can make it.

SEND... CHEEZY... POOFS... DARKNESS... CLOSING.... IN...

Press the button to open your DVD player. I sent them through the ethernet.

Grosbeak07
11-19-2014, 01:01 PM
And now 1 minute late.

I demand xp/refund/tp NOW!

rohmer
11-19-2014, 01:02 PM
Its 11:02..

Jatner
11-19-2014, 01:02 PM
Is extension time now?

rohmer
11-19-2014, 01:02 PM
and now 1 minute late.

I demand xp/refund/tp now!

and a pound of flesh! I want youtube videos of brocolii being eaten!

Galad1
11-19-2014, 01:04 PM
DOOOOoooooooooo000000000ooooooOOOOMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!

TrinityTurtle
11-19-2014, 01:09 PM
and a pound of flesh! I want youtube videos of brocolii being eaten!

Eww....as long as I don't have to eat it thought I guess. :)

HernandoCortez
11-19-2014, 01:10 PM
I would like JUST ONCE Turbine could keep those maintenance and updates on schedule.

morkahn82
11-19-2014, 01:11 PM
in.

Cordovan
11-19-2014, 01:11 PM
The game worlds have reopened! Thank you for your patience, and we will see you back in the game.

grumgrim
11-19-2014, 01:11 PM
DOOOOoooooooooo000000000ooooooOOOOMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!

So are we looking at a couple of mins late or much longer? update would be appreciated

grumgrim
11-19-2014, 01:12 PM
So are we looking at a couple of mins late or much longer? update would be appreciated

and then its up.....

dreddy
11-19-2014, 02:47 PM
Can't get in Cannith... Anyone else?



Getting in line to connect...
Failed to queue for server (0x800004005)

Theender
11-19-2014, 02:53 PM
Can't get in Cannith... Anyone else?



Getting in line to connect...
Failed to queue for server (0x800004005)

Yup I'm getting this problem too. Tried going on Argo instead, still had same problem. Looked at FAQ, it suggested to turn off firewall, did that, and still have issues.

Cordovan
11-19-2014, 02:58 PM
We are looking into periodic log in issues, and will keep you updated.

DarigTheLost
11-19-2014, 03:08 PM
when world first opened. I got in without issue ( and without service agreements popping up ). when i logged out completely and attempted to get back in.... I had 2 service agreements come up. then joined the cue after picking the server, and failed to join the cue

the_one_dwarfforged
11-19-2014, 03:21 PM
cant get in, tried maybe 10-12 times, sometimes game stopped loading at "getting in line to connect", other times would stop at "searching for logon server" (the loading bar on the u23 screen).

maybe ill try again in a few days...

LXP
11-19-2014, 03:44 PM
Can't get in Cannith... Anyone else?



Getting in line to connect...
Failed to queue for server (0x800004005)

Same for me with Sarlona.

atkbeast
11-19-2014, 03:48 PM
My VIP account seems to be able to log into Khyber ok, but all of my premium accounts fail when trying to access the servers

JadonJohn
11-19-2014, 03:48 PM
Attempted to log-in on two different machines, two different accounts --- no success... Just "Getting in line to connect...", then an error box titled "Failed to launch client" with note "Failed to queue for server (0x80004005)"

SymphonicTheory
11-19-2014, 03:50 PM
I'm on ghallandah and !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Failed to queue for server (0x800004005)!!!!!!!!!!!!! *** guys ive been waiting and waiting and it doesn look like you guys know whats going on. mabe try hiring some new techs?

CavernDragon
11-19-2014, 03:52 PM
Add Argo to the list of In line to Q. and whats with all the Ad by deal4real showing up

GMoneyMackDaddy
11-19-2014, 03:53 PM
Two accounts, 1 VIP and 1 F2P and i cannot log into any servers with either account. Tried em all.

Getting in line to connect, then fails every time.

At 4:52pm Eastern time

Kik96
11-19-2014, 03:53 PM
Logged in ok, then game froze up on loading screen when I exited the One-Eared Bugbear Inn to explore Tangleroot. Exited the game and tried to log back in. Getting in line to connect and then failed to queu for server (ox80004005).

JRBrown
11-19-2014, 03:54 PM
After the horrid conditions of this past weekend, now this after 'routine' maintenance...someone please remind me why I'm paying for a free game

phillymiket
11-19-2014, 03:55 PM
BLARG!!!

Waiting in line!! Failed to connect!!!

I'm VIP!

I'm standing out here in the cold with the Premium riff-raff!

OMG that F2P guy just looked at me...

Do something!

;-)

(seriously though, I'd like to play)

SymphonicTheory
11-19-2014, 03:59 PM
Come on DEVs you guys should at least respond to these forums, keep us updated anyone else agree? This has been going on now for the last 8 hours goin on 9.

Paps
11-19-2014, 03:59 PM
getting in li line to connect = Failed to queue for server (0x800004005

catouse9
11-19-2014, 04:04 PM
getting in li line to connect = Failed to queue for server (0x800004005


me 2 trying to get in Thelanis...Anyone know any good D&D stories since we can't play?

Nissebror
11-19-2014, 04:09 PM
getting in li line to connect = Failed to queue for server (0x800004005

http://support.turbine.com/link/portal/24001/24001/Article/244/World-Queue-Error-Please-try-again-Error-50000-or-Failed-to-Queue-for-server-0x80004005-Getting-in-line-to-connect

SymphonicTheory
11-19-2014, 04:12 PM
Well there once was a ranger who had such a powerful arm and such great accuracy, that he once slew a bronze dragon just by throwing a sharpened quill at it's eye. 3 20's in a row combined with a failed 1 on the dragon. impressive i thought to myself.....

deuxanes
11-19-2014, 04:14 PM
Isn't it an established best practice to test updates/patches to the OS/Software/etc. beforehand? This way it should be known how long things will take and whether there will be issues which need to be resolved as well?

kemetka
11-19-2014, 04:17 PM
yup same failure message oh well :/ hop i can get in tonight, i want to TR soon :D

SymphonicTheory
11-19-2014, 04:24 PM
So 9 hours of waiting and not even an update. just Failed to queue for server (0x800004005)

schelsullivan
11-19-2014, 04:37 PM
Getting in line to connect then....(0x80004005) this really sucks, today was my day off. You guys really going to force me to play minecraft?!

SymphonicTheory
11-19-2014, 04:41 PM
MINECRAFT?!?!.......Minecraft?..... Thats a really good idea. I'll try back in a week.

schelsullivan
11-19-2014, 04:59 PM
Damn i fell into the lava