PDA

View Full Version : An Experienced Bard

jellyfish21
04-23-2014, 07:53 PM
I have been playing around with bard builds since 2006.

I definitely have come to the conclusion that TWF bards are the highest DPS bard build. Inspire Courage works best with TWF builds.

I suggest that bards sing only two songs for the entire dungeon: inspire courage and song of heroism. If you have a weak party, then also fascinate.

You need only three spells: masters touch, rage and displacement. Use haste only before level 11.

Go true bard without multi-classing, which will give you the highest spell pen. for Otto's, which you need for boss fights, getting (1) enlarge spell just for it.

There is no need for quicken, but you do need (2) extend. Maximize concentration.

Forget oversized TWF. Use small weapons in the off hand.

Take (3) Toughness, (4) Improved Critical and (5) Power Attack. Take (6) TWF & (7) ITWF.

Maximize the Perform skill. Approximately, take 15, 10 and 5 ranks in the other skills, balancing your skills.

Start your abilities with a maximum STR and enough DEX for ITWF (Counting on at least a +2 tome). You need at least a 12 CHA and CON.

Bards are utility, so fill in your characters other qualities with just that.

Happy Hunting.

BoBoDaClown
04-23-2014, 09:37 PM

I definitely have come to the conclusion that TWF bards are the highest DPS bard build. Inspire Courage works best with TWF builds.
Fatesinger also plays nice with twf. Howeve, your OC requirements and LD play nice wih THF.
I suggest that bards sing only two songs for the entire dungeon: inspire courage and song of heroism. If you have a weak party, then also fascinate.
Very limiting. Inspire Excellence, Spellsong Trance, Spellsong Vigor, Enthrall, occasionally Song of Capering are useful
You need only three spells: masters touch, rage and displacement. Use haste only before level 11.