PDA

View Full Version : Downtime Notice: 8:00 AM - 11:00 AM Eastern (-4 GMT) Wednesday, March 19th



Cordovan
03-18-2014, 04:11 PM
UPDATE: The worlds have reopened, and we'll see you in-game!

The DDO Game Servers will be brought down on Wednesday, March 19th from 8:00 - 11:00 AM Eastern (-4 GMT) for a hotfix. Thanks for your patience, and we'll see you back in the game soon!

Cordovan
03-18-2014, 04:12 PM
This is being done to address a couple of crashing issues.

John_Rove
03-18-2014, 04:14 PM
Do you mean Wednesday, March 19th?

Cordovan
03-18-2014, 04:15 PM
Do you mean Wednesday, March 19th?

Yup. Fixed.

enochiancub
03-18-2014, 04:15 PM
This is being done to address a couple of crashing issues.

Haha, smart move. Nip it in the bud before they go crazy.

Micki
03-18-2014, 04:49 PM
Any chance we could get the adventure compendium thing fixed at the same time? (Just wishful thinking). The sorting (like by level/ patron etc) resets when you close it, and it's driving me nuts. :P

Fine, fine.. I'll do a bug report.

assimilateur
03-18-2014, 05:21 PM
Any chance we could get the adventure compendium thing fixed at the same time? (Just wishful thinking). The sorting (like by level/ patron etc) resets when you close it, and it's driving me nuts. :P

Fine, fine... I'll do a bug report.

It doesn't seem likely that they don't know about it yet. Or is the intention to spam redundant bug reports in an effort to annoy them so much that they fix it? I'm not being facetious here: if you think this is the way to go then I'll submit a bug report myself, assuming I can figure out how to do that.

SirJesto
03-18-2014, 05:30 PM
This is being done to address a couple of crashing issues.

I have been having an intermittent crashing issue since the last update so this is welcome news. :)

Micki
03-18-2014, 05:51 PM
It doesn't seem likely that they don't know about it yet. Or is the intention to spam redundant bug reports in an effort to annoy them so much that they fix it? I'm not being facetious here: if you think this is the way to go then I'll submit a bug report myself, assuming I can figure out how to do that.

Technically we're supposed to bug report any bug. Here: http://ddobugs.turbine.com/ics/support/ticketnewwizard.asp?style=classic

darthhento
03-18-2014, 06:40 PM
Please tell me that this hotfix will remove the utterly horrible smoke effect from the new raid weapons!

rayworks
03-18-2014, 07:11 PM
Is this one gonna fix the ladder issue?

LeoLionxxx
03-18-2014, 07:57 PM
Is this one gonna fix the ladder issue?

As has been stated, the ladder issue is a case-by-case basis. See my sig for paraphrase from the known-issues page.

Cardoor
03-18-2014, 08:18 PM
I have been having an intermittent crashing issue since the last update so this is welcome news. :)

Me too, along with ye olde "installing Pre-reqs" freezing at load screen.

Nayus
03-18-2014, 08:58 PM
I could barely play with so many crashes after the update but then I reinstalled and it's gone, haven't had a crash ever since.
(((((Mind you I had to download a 2010 client from a public host because happy cloud can't find paths)))))

Anyway, thank you for your hard work!

Toro12
03-18-2014, 09:08 PM
Is this one gonna fix the ladder issue?

5 plus years now up and down every ladder in the game some of them countless times and I have never had the "ladder issue"
yet it seem like everyone else has this problem

enochiancub
03-18-2014, 10:39 PM
5 plus years now up and down every ladder in the game some of them countless times and I have never had the "ladder issue"
yet it seem like everyone else has this problem

You're not alone. I almost WANT it to happen to me so I can see what everyone is talking about.

shadowspeaker
03-18-2014, 10:59 PM
I had noticed I was crashing more of late. Then I started killing the Akamai net session and things are as smooth as before the update. Not sure if it is fact or just coincidence.

mpetrarca
03-18-2014, 11:38 PM
This is being done to address a couple of crashing issues.

Thank you Cordovan for informing us of what is being fixed/

Deathdefy
03-19-2014, 01:46 AM
5 plus years now up and down every ladder in the game some of them countless times and I have never had the "ladder issue"
yet it seem like everyone else has this problem

I'm sort of the opposite, but agree with your point.

I have 'ladder bug'ged on virtually - maybe literally - every ladder in the game. I think it has more to do with where you land on it, what angle your camera is and whether you press 'forward' or 'back' first. Or something. I don't know. I'm unsold on ladders being definitively 'fixed' or 'bugged' anyway.

Brendael
03-19-2014, 04:07 AM
5 plus years now up and down every ladder in the game some of them countless times and I have never had the "ladder issue"
yet it seem like everyone else has this problem

I don't think he means *that* issue.

lyrecono
03-19-2014, 05:00 AM
again??? sight...

i hope ths will fix the terrible connection isuess.
We tried te double dragon raid last night, wiped twice during our attempt to flag the healer.
Froze for 2-3 minutes each time.
a moncker and me took that healer into our own party to flag him, still connection isues but they lasted 1 minute, good protections and the dungeon scalling saved our hides a few times.

During the raid everybody had 10 to 30 second freezes multiple times (though strangely not at the same time?)
It started to happen to me since the last update.
Killing 27! versions of awesemonium proces seemed to help (i hadn't used the store all day?)


Please let this be a lag fix!

correction: a propper and speedy lag fix!

eldaye
03-19-2014, 06:40 AM
The DDO Game Servers will be brought down on Wednesday, March 19th from 8:00 - 11:00 AM Eastern (-4 GMT) for a hotfix. Thanks for your patience, and we'll see you back in the game soon!

This may be a dumb question, but if Turbine was concerned about maximizing their profits, why not just take one or two servers offline at a time?
It would promote more cross-server communities during downtime, and still allow players to spend cash in the DDO store.

I certainly understand taking them all down for something that affects all the servers (i.e. log in issues, or launcher updates, or even game updates), but there's really no point in taking them all down at once for a simple hotfix.

~Khyber Completionist, Epic Completionist

tyevek
03-19-2014, 07:24 AM
5 plus years now up and down every ladder in the game some of them countless times and I have never had the "ladder issue"
yet it seem like everyone else has this problem

Seriously cant believe you have never attempted to climb a ladder only to rubber band at the bottom over and over. I have had this happen to me constantly in the 5 years + I have been playing. if I jump to the middle of the ladder it seems to bypass the bug in most cases but whenever I try to climb it from the bottom it gets me nowhere , literally.

ImanCarrot
03-19-2014, 07:24 AM
Please tell me that this hotfix will remove the utterly horrible smoke effect from the new raid weapons!

Nooo! I have a dual wielding half elf. When she does /dance2 she looks like a cheerleader with smoke pom-poms.

Mjolnyr
03-19-2014, 07:31 AM
5 plus years now up and down every ladder in the game some of them countless times and I have never had the "ladder issue"
yet it seem like everyone else has this problem

My assumption: this issue is related to several aspects,
1. data coherence between server and client
2. physical engine routine

In brief, while the player controls the avatar approaching the ladders, the avatar changes into climbing gesture.
The data incoherence occurs when the client determines the avatar is at coordinates A and in climbing status, but the server determines the avatar is still at coordinates B and in normal free-moving status. Physical engine interferes too, because it processes the free-falling routine whenever the avatar isn't attached to the ground. The client keeps telling the server "I am here, climbing", and the server keeps denying "no you are there, not climbing". And, the physical engine keeps dropping the avatar down to the ground,... this makes the data incoherence issue more severe. Thus, the "rubber band" phenomenon occurs, until the conflicted data corrected by the arbiter mechanism.

The issue would occur more frequently, when the player is of higher network latency (higher ping).

Another solution is: never walk to the ladders to climb. Instead, jump onto the ladders, skip the bottom step(s), to prevent this issue.

TempestAlphaOmega
03-19-2014, 07:36 AM
This may be a dumb question, but if Turbine was concerned about maximizing their profits, why not just take one or two servers offline at a time?
It would promote more cross-server communities during downtime, and still allow players to spend cash in the DDO store.

I certainly understand taking them all down for something that affects all the servers (i.e. log in issues, or launcher updates, or even game updates), but there's really no point in taking them all down at once for a simple hotfix.

~Khyber Completionist, Epic Completionist

If the hotfix includes client software changes then you pretty much have to take them down all at the same time otherwise you would have a client on the wrong software version trying to connect to a server (trying is the key word). This would probably cause more problems than the hot fix corrects if the server would even let the client connect at all.

If the hotfix contained no client updates you could probably do what you asked (stagger them) however then Turbine would have to listen to people complain about why their server was taken down at a certain time instead of a time when another server was taken down.

Prunit
03-19-2014, 08:43 AM
Anything fixed is progress thumbs up

Cordovan
03-19-2014, 08:48 AM
The worlds have reopened, and we'll see you in-game!

dirtydigger7out
03-19-2014, 08:48 AM
This is being done to address a couple of crashing issues.

Wow a hot fix with an explanation. I am impressed! Thanks cordovan. It's not like it really matters but it does feel good. I however am a little confused on why form posters have to use your update post to talk about there concerns and game play issues. It is no wounder why the form devs dont want to post . Lolz, look at all the random post on this thread.

Targal
03-19-2014, 08:58 AM
It's fast! I thought you'll open them 4 hours later.

donblas
03-19-2014, 08:59 AM
Yet another fast fix - thanks very much!

Nestroy
03-19-2014, 09:00 AM
The worlds have reopened, and we'll see you in-game!

Cool, explanation, fast service, informations. And the worlds have reopened exceedingly fast. Big thank you Cordovan and the update team.

SirJesto
03-19-2014, 09:25 AM
Seriously cant believe you have never attempted to climb a ladder only to rubber band at the bottom over and over. I have had this happen to me constantly in the 5 years + I have been playing. if I jump to the middle of the ladder it seems to bypass the bug in most cases but whenever I try to climb it from the bottom it gets me nowhere , literally.

OHHH THAT ladder issue. Yeah, I know what you mean. I have been jumping on ladders since I noticed this and have almost forgotten about it, but I can see where this may be difficult to pinpoint to fix.

Daze
03-19-2014, 10:04 AM
OHHH THAT ladder issue. Yeah, I know what you mean. I have been jumping on ladders since I noticed this and have almost forgotten about it, but I can see where this may be difficult to pinpoint to fix.

I have had this happen to me when jumping onto a ladder as well ... most notably with feather fall on. I take the feather fall off and start from the bottom ... and continue on with my day. Later I start from the bottom originally and it happens again (no feather fall) and have to jump to the middle to get out of it just like you did. So I don't think the bottom/middle discussion gets anywhere ...

Loromir
03-19-2014, 11:10 AM
I have had this happen to me when jumping onto a ladder as well ... most notably with feather fall on. I take the feather fall off and start from the bottom ... and continue on with my day. Later I start from the bottom originally and it happens again (no feather fall) and have to jump to the middle to get out of it just like you did. So I don't think the bottom/middle discussion gets anywhere ...

Bah...minor annoyance. It happens to me from time to time, but not enough for me to get my blood pressure up about.

FynWarFyn
03-19-2014, 11:52 AM
Click on the launcher, downloaded all the files and it automatically restarted the launcher but I get this message: "Could not patch file "dndclient.exe", error 5: access denied."

This has never happened before with any of the patch, hotfix, update....

Any idea?

FynWarFyn
03-19-2014, 12:01 PM
Well did a hard reboot and restarted everything, internet and all. Patch is working now.

Tried to edit last post but it put me on hold forever.

karsion
03-19-2014, 12:36 PM
Wow a hot fix with an explanation. I am impressed! Thanks cordovan. It's not like it really matters but it does feel good. I however am a little confused on why form posters have to use your update post to talk about there concerns and game play issues. It is no wounder why the form devs dont want to post . Lolz, look at all the random post on this thread.

It's easy, when there is no explanation hotfix concerns exploits which are not to be discussed on the forums.

Kalem
03-19-2014, 05:36 PM
The worlds have reopened, and we'll see you in-game!

well the down time was a waste I now can not play this game every time i get to a point where it moves to a new zone it crashes on me this did not happen before the hotfix I am very frustrated at it.

Knobull
03-19-2014, 06:15 PM
I notice that turbinelauncher.exe was updated as well as dndclient.exe. Can we uninstall Akamai yet?

RedSkiesAtNight
03-19-2014, 09:20 PM
Having an odd issue after the patch. I can log into any realm, EXCEPT Orien, which times out with the error "The Connection to the Server has been Lost." Windows firewall is turned off and BitDefender exceptions set for the Turbine folder. I flushed the DNS cache, even restarted twice. Netstat doesn't show any other programs listening on the DDO ports (according to your FAQ). Any idea why I can't log into Orien (my realm), but can log into the others?

Do I need to reinstall? Please help!

Cardoor
03-20-2014, 01:23 AM
Unfortunately the maintenance didn't solve any of the issues that started with update 21. I am still getting the "install pre-reqs" hang before the server select screen. If I do not get that then I get the 20 attempts and then disconnect. If I reboot my computer when getting either of the above, I can sometimes login.

EDIT: I was able to transition to a few different areas and finish a quest before the game crashed, so at least it is not crashing as fast as it was. It was crashing after one or two area transitions before (between update 21 and this morning)

Kydrou
03-20-2014, 01:24 AM
My assumption: this issue is related to several aspects,
1. data coherence between server and client
2. physical engine routine

In brief, while the player controls the avatar approaching the ladders, the avatar changes into climbing gesture.
The data incoherence occurs when the client determines the avatar is at coordinates A and in climbing status, but the server determines the avatar is still at coordinates B and in normal free-moving status. Physical engine interferes too, because it processes the free-falling routine whenever the avatar isn't attached to the ground. The client keeps telling the server "I am here, climbing", and the server keeps denying "no you are there, not climbing". And, the physical engine keeps dropping the avatar down to the ground,... this makes the data incoherence issue more severe. Thus, the "rubber band" phenomenon occurs, until the conflicted data corrected by the arbiter mechanism.

The issue would occur more frequently, when the player is of higher network latency (higher ping).

Another solution is: never walk to the ladders to climb. Instead, jump onto the ladders, skip the bottom step(s), to prevent this issue.

THIS

The only way i get "Ladder Issue" is when i approach ladders from a jump, or from the air, never from ground. My gf has the same issue. We are from Chile and no matter how 3rd worldly our country is we have a very good connection and machine, so my "non-exixtant" money is in the network latency.

RedSkiesAtNight
03-20-2014, 06:30 AM
Having an odd issue after the patch. I can log into any realm, EXCEPT Orien, which times out with the error "The Connection to the Server has been Lost." Windows firewall is turned off and BitDefender exceptions set for the Turbine folder. I flushed the DNS cache, even restarted twice. Netstat doesn't show any other programs listening on the DDO ports (according to your FAQ). Any idea why I can't log into Orien (my realm), but can log into the others?

Do I need to reinstall? Please help!


A complete reinstall fixed the problem. Weird, but was able to log in to Orien this morning.