PDA

View Full Version : Basic playstyle for a sorcerer?

HardRobble
02-22-2014, 07:53 PM
Ok, a thread that is not about builds for advanced players or even basic players. This thread is asking for the type of advice you'd find in the book "Playing DDO Sorcerers for Dummies".

I've started a 7th level sorcerer with lots of help from another thread I created recently.. This is my first sorcerer and as such I have no experience playing one (or even a main caster type).

I'm looking for advice on what self buffs I should always be running, how i should go about attacking groups indoors/outdoors, dealing with traps when solo, I've heard mentioned jumping and casting.. not sure about that since casting has a small delay and i'm back on the ground by the time it launches. Avoiding becoming an aggro magnet.. using metamagics..

Anyway, any hints/tips or suggestions for the newbie sorcerer would be great.

Thalone
02-22-2014, 09:39 PM
See my signature for methods of getting past traps.

People advocate jump-casting because casting while walking slows your movement speed down considerably, whereas if you're in the air, your forward motion is not slowed as much. As a caster, your mobility is a powerful tool to mitigate incoming damage. Also, sorcs have very fast casting animations. You can avoid taking damage from casters or archers by running behind obstacles like pillars or doorways and peeking out when your spells are off cooldown.