PDA

View Full Version : I need advice for a new paladin

royallion
12-27-2013, 08:42 PM
I am still new to DDO and I wanted advice on how I should build a Paladin. I know I want to be a half-elf and I want to be a tank of sorts with a sword and board. I wanted advice on which feats I should pick up, which dilettante I should select, etc. Thank You

Ralmeth
01-03-2014, 06:48 PM
Hey there! There's actually quite a bit that goes into a Pally S&B build. So here is some overview / tips:

Race - Half-Elf vs. Human
I've leveled up my S&B Pally both as a half-elf and human. Both are good, though human is a bit better at the moment. Currently, the only advantage of going half-elf is that you get a second intimidate button on a 60 second cool-down. It is helpful to have if a second wave of guys shows up before your primary intimidate is available again. In contrast, going human will give you 1 extra feat of your choice plus 1 extra skill point, making human more useful IMHO.

Class Split - Pure vs. Splash
Currently splashing in 2-5 levels of another class works very well on a Paladin and is stronger than going pure. To keep things simple, I would recommend to take a 2 Fighter splash, which will get you 2 more feats, access to haste boost and combat tactics (if you choose to use them), and the tower shield feat for free. There are other splash options, with adding in another 2 levels of monk being great if you want evasion and 2 more feats.

Stats
Strength is your primary stat, charisma is secondary, and constitution is 3rd. You probably want to start your strength at a 16 and then put most/all of your level ups into strength. For a 28 point build, you could go with something like the following. Please note that a Paladin's ability to cast spells is based on your modified wisdom, which includes any items, tomes, etc. that you have. So starting wisdom at 8 is perfectly fine and a good way to save build points:
Str: 16 (10 pts) - Level ups into strength
Dex: 8
Con: 14 (6 pts)