PDA

View Full Version : New Player Looking For DPS Pally Advice

silasjakob
12-22-2013, 09:07 AM
I'm new to DDO, but familiar with PnP and MMORPGs in general. Here's what I'm looking for, and I'm hopeful to get some of the expert advice I'm seeing on these boards.
I'll be playing primarily with a group of friends, and I don't have much interest in end game/ raiding/ powergaming etc. I'm looking for a character that is primarily melee DPS (my standard of play for ages) with the ability to heal a bit when I'm in my small friend group (a ranger and/or a wizard). Also, I'd like that character to have solid solo ability.
Thanks in advance for your help, everyone!

HungarianRhapsody
12-22-2013, 09:13 AM
My own personal favorite DPS Paladin - 2 levels of Paladin, 2 levels of Monk, 16 levels of Sorcerer.

Yes, I know that's just a snarky response that sounds like trolling, but it's really not intended that way. Paladin offers a lot of benefits. DPS isn't one of those benefits. Instead of looking for a "DPS Pally", I'd suggest looking at the core mechanic of what you want and then trying to build for that. You want a melee character that has a ton of survivability. To me, that says Paladin + Monk (two levels of each, but feel free to increase either) and then a third class of *whatever* to get the DPS.

Paladin 2/Monk 12/Ranger 8
Paladin 4/Monk 2/Fighter 14
Paladin 2/Monk 2/Sorcerer or Wizard 16
Paladin 4/Monk 12/Fighter 4

Lots of combinations can work out nicely. Paladin's bonus to Saving Throws and Monk's Evasion and high saving throws and bonuses to a variety of combat options combine very nicely. And each of those combinations has a significantly different feel to it.

silasjakob
12-22-2013, 09:32 AM
Great point. I'll move this over to new player advice with a broader scope of advice.

Choopak
12-22-2013, 10:18 AM