PDA

View Full Version : Fighter vs. Paladin splashes for Melee/Healer specced Clerics

Brendael
12-06-2013, 02:53 AM
I'm not very experienced when it comes to multi-classing and I don't know enough about the classes but can someone give me a breakdown of the differences between splashing two levels of Fighter vs. splashing two levels of Paladin? As I understand it spashing Fighter twice gives you an extra combat feat so I'm not sure what you gain with going Paladin instead? Is this correct. I've also read about improved saves for Paladin - which saves are those?

FuzzyDuck81
12-06-2013, 03:00 AM
Not counting the enhancement lines, a 2 level splash will get you:
Fighters: Tower shield proficiency for free (the only class that does) & 2 combat feats.
Paladins: full save progression, charisma bonus added to saves, a blue bar, lay on hands (though won't do much, it's instant at least) & smite evil (again won't do much since it's based off paladin level for damage).

Paladins also are required to be lawful good alignment, which locks it out of certain class combinations where fighter is independent of that.

As for which is better to splash, it depends on what the rest of your build plan is.

kaleid0star
12-06-2013, 03:03 AM
At 2 levels of Paladin, you get passive feat, Divine Grace, that adds your charisma modifier to ALL of your saves. So basically its a choice between saves or combat feats. You could take 2 of each and do 16/2/2 but then that makes people wary of your healing capability.

unbongwah
12-06-2013, 08:29 AM
So basically its a choice between saves or combat feats.
This: ftr splash is better for your melee DPS; pally splash is better for your survivability. Ofc, some people go for both (https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthread.php/427304-Radiant-Titan-revisited-Clr17-Pal2-Ftr1-melee-healing-spec)...

axel15810
12-06-2013, 08:53 AM