PDA

View Full Version : Henshin Or Shintao Tierr 5 Enhancements - What to Choose???

Taters214
10-19-2013, 01:59 PM
So I'm staring at henshin and shintao tier 5 enhancements, and I'm not sure which is better. I'm not very experienced with a monk, so advise and reasoning for that advise would be appreciated greatly.

The monk I'm building is a pure 20 handwrap user, enough STR for overwhelming critical, and maxing WIS for stunning fist DC. Full TWF line. Probably the same stuff as most other monks...

Henshin is looks good because
Void Strike - I like the extra force damage, and I like the "erased from existence" on vorpals, but I can't find anything about the DC for the instakill part. I assume there is a DC related to it... However, I hate the sink of 8 AP in the (largely) worthless prerequisites. I know I could use those 8 AP elsewhere...
Every Light Casts a Candle - Giving negs to mobs seems very very nice...

Shintao looks good because
Empty handed mastery - I'll be using wraps, so obviously gaining a die is good.
Meditation of War - looks nice once the penalties no longer apply
Kukan-Do - another way to stun might be nice, though it uses CHA mod, so nevermind. This is probably worthless.
Rise of the Phoenix - resurrection for free, nice
Violence Begets violence - might be useful

I think as I list this out and think about it, I'm thinking Shintao would be better. Can any monk gurus out there confirm?

Thanks!

Mimmo
10-19-2013, 02:31 PM
Henshin - Every Light Casts a Shadow... is broken for my toon. It gives my allies neg levels too. Bug reported. I would avoid that unless you can freely hand out Deathward :D

SensaiRyu
10-19-2013, 04:18 PM
I did the Shintao line and am very happy with it. I took Henshin up to the +ki regen and Ninja Spy up to Shadow Veil.

Didn't take Kukan this time and have seen others use Jade Tomb quite a bit. I prefer the ki regen and veil over those two attacks. If I didn't have Cleric Dillys I'd take more of the Shintao line.