PDA

View Full Version : Can You Become Lawful Evil?

Tarmuar_of_Lumbar
08-07-2013, 11:56 AM
(Search didn't bring up anything related to this, if this is a rehash of an old thread, my apologies)...

I am new to DDO but an old hand with AD&D (started D&D in 1975 when a friend from school told me about these stinking creatures who wore iron clod shoes and how we could kill them with a roll of some weird looking dice). From that discussion I became addicted to Dungeons and Dragons (our version lived over 20 years in itself).

In the original game my cleric, "Tendalos", was Lawful Evil and I have an itch to try and recreate him here in game. I know the in game character would not come close to what the P&P character was, but I thought it would be fun.

Unfortunately I don't immediately see an option to become any type of Evil in alignment.

Is it possible? If so, how?

Thanks for bearing with me during this nostalgia attack!

Therigar
08-07-2013, 12:06 PM
As was true in all of D&D, alignment is essentially meaningless in DDO. Other than serving as a prerequisite for certain character classes and, whether urban legend or fact, impacting some weapon and spell effects there is nothing about alignment that even matters.

Consider that our lawful good characters are only lawful and good because we say they are. From an opposing perspective they might well be lawful and evil. Our paladins might actually be anti-paladins. It is a social perspective that makes "our side" always the "good side" and "their side" always the "evil side."

So, choose whatever alignment you want within the limits DDO provides. It means almost nothing. And you, the player, can be as good/evil, lawful/chaotic or as near to neutral as you define neutrality.

Just keep in mind that, unless you solo, DDO is a social game and being too "evil" or "chaotic" can impact other people's decisions to group with you.

Tarmuar_of_Lumbar
08-07-2013, 12:15 PM