PDA

View Full Version : How good is “Positive Energy Aura” really?

Jim_G
07-24-2013, 07:15 PM
I just started playing three months ago and I’m having a lot of fun trying different alts. I mainly solo, and recently have been trying different cleric/fighter/pally combinations. I’m trying to settle on a build to take into epic levels.

I think I want to run a battle cleric, but I’ve noticed that battle cleric is often interpreted to mean “not very good at healing.” But from the written descriptions (and some other posts) it seems like the Radiant Servant prestige enhancements with the “Positive Energy Aura” turn you into a little walking altar of healing goodness while still leaving room for fighter levels and melee feats. The healing energy aura is powered by Turn Undead and your turns regenerate. although not quite as quickly as they get used up. A level 12 cleric heals a team member by 4 hit points every 2 seconds, so you would be healing everybody at the rate of 120 HP per minute just by standing around, before you fire off a single spell. By level 18 this increases to 180 a minute.

It seems to me if you take Radiant Servant you should be a darn good healer and still have room for a fighter level or two. However, when I look at sample builds on DDO wiki I notice that only the “healbot” build takes this enhancement, not the generalist or battle cleric.

Is there something I am missing here as to why this enhancement isn’t on a “generalist” build? Perhaps the prerequisites are too steep, or the damage comes in so fast and heavy at 12+ that it isn’t as much healing as it seems?

Last night I rolled a dwarven fighter 1/cleric 6 (skipped to level 7) and was able to take the first level of Radiant Servant and still take several dwarven +axe enhancements that really add to melee damage. Honestly, the UI for getting all the prerequisites is so clunky it makes me wonder if people skip prestige enhancements just because it’s such a chore to plan for them.

Thanks!