PDA

View Full Version : Pay 10 astral shards to skip this thread

Qaliya
07-23-2013, 07:27 AM
Seriously, guys, where does it end?

I have a management degree and have been in the business world for over two decades. I understand that companies have to make money, and that DDO runs on a transaction model. I don't generally have a problem with the loads of stuff in the DDO store: the cosmetics are fine, with the ones that let people speed up play (XP pots) I can deal with, and I can even forgive things like SP pots that clearly break an important game mechanism.

But ever since astral shards, you have gone completely overboard.

Microtransactions should be used to enhance the game, provide new options and allow people to get extras that make the game a bit easier or more fun. They should not be used to circumvent the basics of gameplay. I never took issue with seeing astral shards here and there but this business of bribing NPCs in quests is simply a step too far.

What's next? Pay 100 AS to skip a level? Pay 200 AS for a special weapon that instakills a quest boss? Raid gear at a trader for astral shards?

Some of us actually like to immerse ourselves in quests. We do not want to see the company we already pay money to every month essentially begging us for more money or enticing us to spend money to cheat.

I can tell you what you are accomplishing in my case: annoying me to such an extent that I am boycotting the use of astral shards for pretty much everything except trading to other players. The more you to try to ram this stuff down my throat, the less inclined I am to spend money on this game.

You're killing the proverbial goose that laid the golden egg.

PS I don't want to see my astral shard total on the screen at any point except when it is directly necessary. If you think that ham-fisted move is going to magically cause people to spend the damned things more often, you understand little about human nature.

Cetus
07-23-2013, 10:51 PM
Agree on all points.