PDA

View Full Version : Ranger stuck....?

JPGR
01-08-2013, 09:24 PM
Hello all - this is my first post. Im new to DDO (am still on my first character Elf AA Ranger)... So far, other than hirelings, Ive been solo. Ive made it to lvl 21 halfway to 22, have decent crafting (92A 87D 67E), good gear, good stats & saves. My first goal was to make it to the capstone, and now I feel greedy and want to go to 25. What I am finding is that the upper levels are becoming nearly impossible to solo. They seem to be geared to either A- casters or B-groups. Is this by design or am I just a crappy player? Are there rangers who have made it to 25 solo? Is this a pipe dream? a bit more info: I plan on doing group runs, maybe even joining a guild, but for now I am really enjoying learning the game and developing my skills. any advice/ encouragement would be appreciated.

smeggy1384
01-08-2013, 09:37 PM
You'll definitely learn more by grouping, maybe its just a hidden shrine here and there where you would not look, maybe its some new tactics you hadn't thought of, or access to areas that require several lever pullers.

ka0t1c1sm
01-08-2013, 09:38 PM
First off, welcome to DDO!

I've found that the majority of the epic quests to be very soloable on eNormal. I've soloed them on my pure cleric, pure artificer, pure druid, and 14 ranger/6 fighter (with a FvS hireling) without too much trouble. Nothing that a decently built and geared character like you say you have can't handle with a hireling. I've also got at least one of my characters to 25, and 2 of them to 24 without having to run much of those same quests on epic hard or elite.

Maybe you just have to look at your tactics? While epic normal and hard is nowhere near what epic elite is, it is still a jump from heroic quests. If you're on Sarlona, feel free to look me up on any of the characters listed below and I'd be happy to run with you or just "talk shop".