PDA

View Full Version : Half-Elf versus Human - When should you take Half Elf?

stefferweffer
12-31-2012, 02:00 PM
Assuming that someone has enough favor or DDo Store Points to buy Half Elf (and I do right now), I'm trying to decide when it is a good idea to make a Half Elf. I read all the Dilletante stuff on DDO Wiki, but frankly I'm not that impressed. Am I just missing something?

The main issue is I'm still tossing around what I want to do for a 3rd good solo, self-healing character. I group with friends sometimes, but usually I'm on my own. I have a 19 Human Palemaster, and a 19 Warforged Artificer, who are both very fun. I am now looking at a Cleric or Favored Soul (leaning toward Cleric because of spell versatility).

But if I made a Half Elf Cleric, what "Dilletante" would I want, and would it be worth losing the bonus feat I would receive if going Human? I thought about Fighter, for using a Greataxe or something similar. I also looked at Rogue, for up to 3d6 Sneak Attack damage later on, but when would I be able to sneak attack if soloing? I looked at Barbarian, for the extra HP potential. I looked at Paladin for the bonuses on saving throws, which is always nice. I even looked at Artificer for the proficiency with Crossbows and benefit to UMD on scrolls and such, but realized that my DPS would never be even close to the Arti with his Crossbows.

I guess, in short, I'm just not getting what the big deal is with a Half-Elf. Can someone please explain to me what I am missing? I'm still very new and am probably missing something.

Thanks!

Wipey
12-31-2012, 02:48 PM
Female dark monk helves are hot !

Rogue dilly is strong for twf fighter, arcane archer, I suppose melee bard, arty ?
Cleric dilly for easy hjeal scrolling while levelling or if you don't plan to have umd for some strange reason.

Even while soloing, sneak attack apply for stunned, blinded or " improve deceived" mobs. Take twf fighter for 3d6 from dilly+13 from item for both hands , yummy.