PDA

View Full Version : DDO Store says ding...



Galeria
12-28-2012, 09:19 PM
So, when trying to load the DDO store in game, I get a black screen.

Waited a while, nothing happened. Hit the little home icon in the top corner and got this word printed out:


ding...

I guess that means it's dead?

Beethoven
12-28-2012, 10:27 PM
Store seems to be working fine for me.

I had this happen in the past though and usually restarting the game fixes the issue.

MsEricka
12-29-2012, 02:40 AM
A "ding" would be an indication of an event such as your firewall asking if it is allowed to connect to the server in question.

Try running in windows mode "alt + enter" and see if you can see a window popup when you open the store.

Galeria
12-29-2012, 10:02 AM
I eventually got it to load, I just thought it was funny that the word

ding...

appeared on the black screen.

psykopeta
12-30-2012, 05:36 AM
ddo store is quite funny, shows you 404 error, service not available (and a guildmate was buying something, so he told me to open it) and sometimes even freezes ddo client

not sure how does ddo store work, but like the help button, seems to be working depending on the day

ArgentMage
12-30-2012, 08:29 AM
Help, Support, and DDO Store all use the "Awesomium" browser plug-in DLL.
It's a 3rd-party tool, and a lot of games use it, but it's not 100% reliable -
in particular, there was a recent release of awesomium that was totally broken. :rolleyes:
So, gong on Turbine for using buggy plug-in, but as a developer I can see not
wanting to re-invent the wheel, particularly as this thing has basically become
a defacto standard plug-in.

amnota
12-30-2012, 08:34 AM
http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php?t=400645

try this suggestion, it has helped everyone that I know of that used it

Good Luck