PDA

View Full Version : Ozmar's Class Guide

OzmarDDO
08-13-2012, 11:46 AM
Ozmar's Class Advice

I've been playing this game for three years now. I do not believe that I am an expert. I only have one character at level 20, (well 21, now), and there are dozens of higher-level quests that I have never seen. I do, however, believe that I have extensive experience playing many classes (I am an altaholic) and am pretty familiar with the low to mid levels of the game. I've also played a lot of permadeath (max char level 14), as well as standard play, and run in a lot of PUGs.

With that in mind, here is my advice to the classes. Said advice is my opinion and hopefully will be helpful for new players, but is by no means guaranteed awesome. I'm eager to welcome other opinions.

General Advice:

Don't specialize. Each class is "best" at certain things, but no class is incapable of doing other things. Every character should be able to contribute helpfully to every party, and even a little bit of help is better than no help at all. The best example I can think of is this: the heal skill. If your ally is at -1 hps and bleeding, then you have a chance to help him. If you are carrying some healing kits, you can attempt to stabilize them. Even if you have no ranks in heal, all you need to do is roll a 15 or better, and he'll stop bleeding. If no one has healing spells or clickies, you might as well try. Its better than standing around and hoping that he stabilizes.

Every character should carry a ranged weapon. There are some circumstances when a foe is unreachable by melee, or a lever needs to be triggered from a range. Even if your character is no good at it, you should have one just in case it is needed.