PDA

View Full Version : Conjure Bolt scrolls NEED to be fixed



fatherpirate
07-11-2012, 09:08 PM
Quivers do not hold enuff bolts to feed a repeater.

so if your a half elf arty Dili...you use scrolls to fill the need. or a rogue mechnic
They stack 1000 per space.

But they current make nothing if you use them.

2 builds crippled over a simple bug you guys have failed to fix.

geeez fix that scroll already

shadereaper33
07-11-2012, 09:19 PM
I agree that it sucks, but I think there are bigger issues right now *cough new raid cough* that need to fixed. Especially since you can get the house D returning bolts with a bit of favor.

Jaid314
07-12-2012, 01:37 AM
so use flame arrow. or just use regular bolts in a quiver. by earning either SF or house D favor, if i'm not mistaken you can become able to buy 3 different types of bolts. one quiver is therefore enough to hold 1800 bolts, if you really need to.

Phoenix-daBard
07-12-2012, 01:45 AM
so use flame arrow. or just use regular bolts in a quiver. by earning either SF or house D favor, if i'm not mistaken you can become able to buy 3 different types of bolts. one quiver is therefore enough to hold 1800 bolts, if you really need to.

Large thin quiver from house D favor holds 3x1000 which if you have that favor you could fill it with +1 sturdy bolts and +3 sturdy bolts and any other style of bolts for an effective capacity of around 7000 shots.

Jaid314
07-12-2012, 01:16 PM
Large thin quiver from house D favor holds 3x1000 which if you have that favor you could fill it with +1 sturdy bolts and +3 sturdy bolts and any other style of bolts for an effective capacity of around 7000 shots.

yes, that is also true. you can buy a 1800 slot total quiver (3x600) much earlier on though :p

(for a first life character, burning that much money on a house D quiver is pretty expensive if you don't have someone to feed plat to the character).

but yes, ultimately, house D quivers loaded with +0 (it isn't +1) and +3 sturdy and your choice of one other arrow type is indeed a good solution ^^

Phoenix-daBard
07-12-2012, 01:19 PM
+0 (it isn't +1)

doh!

fatherpirate
07-12-2012, 07:43 PM
I see lots of work arounds.

I have a better idea...fix the scroll

I bet if raise dead scroll was doing the same thing...not raising dead...you could just
imagine the screaming. But you can have work arounds for that.

Less work arounds..more fix it.

Tembyr
07-12-2012, 07:55 PM
While it is nice to demand "Fix it!", these people are trying to help you cope until it's fixed, which is the next best thing. Because you know, they can't fix it...

garlor
07-13-2012, 07:59 AM
Less work arounds..more fix it.

exactly, your problem has many workarounds, so it has little fixit

it's ok to ask for a bug to be solved, they all should be, but acting like a jackass is not helpful

Gkar
07-13-2012, 08:23 AM
I see lots of work arounds.

I have a better idea...fix the scroll

I bet if raise dead scroll was doing the same thing...not raising dead...you could just
imagine the screaming. But you can have work arounds for that.

Less work arounds..more fix it.

It would seem that the bugs that should be addressed first are the ones with a serious game impact that don't have fairly straight forward work arounds.

Chai
07-13-2012, 12:09 PM
Bolts are dirt cheap and fit into quivers. If you can get the returning 75% ones they last alot longer. Yeah it sucks to have to run and buy them, but you would have to buy scrolls anyhow.

bigolbear
07-13-2012, 12:45 PM
objectively speaking that bug is doing you a favour at the minute.

Scorls cost money - more money than bolts.

i dotn actualy see why your complaining here as your talking about scroll casting it.

The bolts made by the spell, are 100+1 bolts. the +1 doesnt stack with the +1 on a crossbow. so as long as your using atleast a +1 crossbow then its the same as using 100 regualr bolts which cost next to nothing.

just go buy a few quivers and stack em full of regular bolts untill you unlcok your house D favour.

fatherpirate
07-13-2012, 02:40 PM
Regular bolts stack in 100, even in a thin quiver they only stack 400
summoned bolts stack in 1000

so, if I summon 2000 bolts (very common amount for a repeater in a large dungeon) it takes up
1 space in the ready spot and 1 in my inventory

ok regular bolts 2000
100 in the ready
400 in the ready quiver
400 in next quiver 1 inventory spot
400 in next quiver 2 inventory spots
400 in next quiver 3 inventory spots
300 in next quiver 4 inventory spots

summoned bolts 1 inventory spot
regular 4 inventory spots

also, when quiver 1 runs out...you can't fire
you have to open up inventory and manually switch quivers
while 3 orcs chew on you

with summoned, first 1000 done, it auto loads the next 1000

That is why summoned bolts are better than regular ones, if you use a repeater

MartinusWyllt
07-13-2012, 03:01 PM
...
also, when quiver 1 runs out...you can't fire
you have to open up inventory and manually switch quivers
while 3 orcs chew on you

with summoned, first 1000 done, it auto loads the next 1000

That is why summoned bolts are better than regular ones, if you use a repeater

Just keeping an eye on your quiver would obviate some of your problem...hardly "cripples" any build, just takes a little management. You could also run away then open your inventory tab...can you put quivers on a hotbar and hotswap them?

I use 4 house D thin quivers on my non-arti lives, 4,000 +3 sturdy bolts definitely outlast ship buffs.

fatherpirate
07-14-2012, 03:39 PM
LOL

what folks do to save a few plat.

well, if you wanna micro manage your ammo in battle, knock yourself out.

I prefer to spend a bit more plat, summon about 3000, using only 2 inventory slots
and not have to think about anymore.

maybe I am lazy.

MartinusWyllt
07-14-2012, 03:44 PM
LOL

what folks do to save a few plat.

well, if you wanna micro manage your ammo in battle, knock yourself out.

Just making sure your quivers are topped-off before questing and checking them when resting is micromanaging? I don't run out of ammo this way. I could conjure bolts, but +3 sturdy > +2 conjured.

Well, good luck with your "crippled" builds. Consider 2 arti levels instead so you can enhance your repeater with rune arms...and you could conjure bolts.

BTW: You can even use hot bar slots to keep track of how many bolts you have left in your conjured stack.

fatherpirate
07-14-2012, 04:16 PM
Just making sure your quivers are topped-off before questing and checking them when resting is micromanaging? I don't run out of ammo this way. I could conjure bolts, but +3 sturdy > +2 conjured.

Well, good luck with your "crippled" builds. Consider 2 arti levels instead so you can enhance your repeater with rune arms...and you could conjure bolts.

BTW: You can even use hot bar slots to keep track of how many bolts you have left in your conjured stack.

Not much help if your build has druid levels....druidic oath
Not much help if your a non-arty caster...2 lvl splash gimps your spells

not sure how fixing the broken summon scrolls would mean that I have crippled builds ?

My current max level toon is only lvl 12....but I play in a PERMADEATH guild.
so...I guess if you deleted ..every... toon you have that EVER used a rez shine or ever released
because they died...and had at least one left higher than level 12...then you play better than me.

But if you don't...then your builds are far more crippled than mine. :-P

MartinusWyllt
07-14-2012, 04:48 PM
not sure how fixing the broken summon scrolls would mean that I have crippled builds ?

You said:



2 builds crippled over a simple bug you guys have failed to fix.

I and others before me offered suggestions for how you could not be "crippled" in the meantime. You can continue to be snippy about that as you will, I was just offering a suggestion that could ameliorate your present difficulties as I don't think we'll see that fixed anytime soon.

You're using a repeater on a druid or other caster? That sounds interesting. How effective, aside from your bolt issue, are you finding it? I've wondered about that for PLs, the non-extra feat classes appear to not have the feats for effective repeater use.

fatherpirate
07-15-2012, 11:56 AM
ok, I will give you that one..not crippled

I will call it, inventory space nerfed :-P

Chai
07-15-2012, 01:27 PM
Regular bolts stack in 100, even in a thin quiver they only stack 400
summoned bolts stack in 1000

so, if I summon 2000 bolts (very common amount for a repeater in a large dungeon) it takes up
1 space in the ready spot and 1 in my inventory

ok regular bolts 2000
100 in the ready
400 in the ready quiver
400 in next quiver 1 inventory spot
400 in next quiver 2 inventory spots
400 in next quiver 3 inventory spots
300 in next quiver 4 inventory spots

summoned bolts 1 inventory spot
regular 4 inventory spots

also, when quiver 1 runs out...you can't fire
you have to open up inventory and manually switch quivers
while 3 orcs chew on you

with summoned, first 1000 done, it auto loads the next 1000

That is why summoned bolts are better than regular ones, if you use a repeater

You can have a hotbar with quivers on it, and when the top quiver runs out, click the next one down. Its the same as swapping a weapon. Compare that to having to use a summon scroll in the middle of battle.

While having no bug is better than something being bugged, I wouldnt call any build crippled due to summon bolt scrolls not working.

Phoenix-daBard
07-15-2012, 03:22 PM
so...I guess if you deleted ..every... toon you have that EVER used a rez shine or ever released because they died...and had at least one left higher than level 12...then you play better than me.

I have a drow artificer who reached level 18 PD style. I played him as a no twink use only what he made or picked up in quests himself. He was not allowed to use store items or scrolls. He did not use shrines or release on death. I set a death limit of his base con according to old pnp rules. He lasted until level 18 where he died in a situation where he could not be raised by a party member (soloing). At that point he still had 3 raises left but was dead according to the PD rules I set for him. He is now a craftbot and only plays with guildies who need an artie along and currently sits at level 20.

That was the only character I played anything like PD. For me at least it did not add anything to the game.

Jaid314
07-15-2012, 06:05 PM
You can have a hotbar with quivers on it, and when the top quiver runs out, click the next one down. Its the same as swapping a weapon. Compare that to having to use a summon scroll in the middle of battle.

While having no bug is better than something being bugged, I wouldnt call any build crippled due to summon bolt scrolls not working.

last i checked, this actually opens the quiver rather than equipping it.

EustaceTrevelyan
07-16-2012, 06:28 PM
Yeah, if they can't fix the bug they could just change this to equip the quiver, instead of the current open. (And before suggesting solutions like hotbar'ing a quiver to swap it, try them out first. I know you're trying to be helpful, but it kind of undermines when info is posted:))

garlor
07-16-2012, 06:46 PM
Large thin quiver from house D favor holds 3x1000 which if you have that favor you could fill it with +1 sturdy bolts and +3 sturdy bolts and any other style of bolts for an effective capacity of around 7000 shots.



with summoned, first 1000 done, it auto loads the next 1000

That is why summoned bolts are better than regular ones, if you use a repeater

*****ing so you can get an effective carry of 2k bolts while people is offering you a solution to carry 7k

worst blind is the one doesn't want to see

nuff said

MartinusWyllt
07-16-2012, 09:38 PM
*****ing so you can get an effective carry of 2k bolts while people is offering you a solution to carry 7k

worst blind is the one doesn't want to see

nuff said

at 75% returning it is effectively a lot more than 7000 bolts, even.

fatherpirate
07-17-2012, 02:47 PM
Do keep in mind, thier 'solutions' assume

1. You are lvl 12+
2. You have a bunch of house D favor

I play permadeath and my highest level toon is lvl 12..and he is a mage
that doesn't use repeaters

Fixing the scroll so it works correctly is a solution for characters
level 1 and up

Tobi
10-05-2012, 10:48 AM
Either fix the bug or remove the spell conjure bolts from the game please. Thank you.

Missing_Minds
10-05-2012, 11:11 AM
damn... fell prey to a necro.