PDA

View Full Version : Elven Racial Enhancement: Positive Energy Healing

seenorseems
06-06-2012, 01:28 AM
Hi,

I'm fairly new to the game, still on my first life playing an elven wizard. I lean more to the role-playing side of things and that's what attracted me to DDO but I've had some difficulty making an effective character that I find interesting to play.

As a wizard there seem to be only two good options for building a character: pale master or warforged. As someone who likes elves and wants to play a lore appropriate caster this makes things a little difficult.
Elves don't seem to have much going for them right now except their backstory and some arcane bonuses which from what I understand aren't very useful until late in the game. No self-respecting Aerenal elf should dabble in Mabar-fueled necromancy, let alone enrobe themselves in negative energy. There are entire branches of our society whose job it is to hunt down the undead - I might as well just lay down on the pyre right now.

Elves do however have a racial disposition to necromancy fueled by Irian and good vibes so why not make them a more viable option with a little positive energy healing. It's a little out-of-bounds from PNP, but so is pale master, and while the Undying are a special lot who wouldn't be wandering around Xen'drik there are also the Half-Living who have been mysteriously changed to something between living and undying, presumably in an Aerenal-approved manner.

wax_on_wax_off
06-06-2012, 02:35 AM
Sounds cute, I wouldn't mind this at all.

Antheal
06-06-2012, 03:10 AM
If Elven Clerics could shroud themselves with the aspect of the Venerated of the Undying Court, I'd drop my soon-to-be-Dragonmarked* Halflings in an instant.

(*Dragonmark status dependant on the new Enhancements system coming in Update whenever.)

Ungood
06-06-2012, 06:57 AM