PDA

View Full Version : Remove the hit point display in parties.

Gregen
10-22-2011, 04:12 AM
At first I liked the update that let you see everyone's HP. It made it easier to play as a healer. But the more I played after the update, the less I liked it.

The real problem is a vast amount of immature, pompous players in DDO. But that can't be helped. The next best thing is to remove the feature that allows everyone to see your HP. I'll tell you what I mean, if you listen to my case. And please, don't just skim through it.

I've been playing DDO for about 2 years. Not as long as many of the players here, but long enough to have experience in the game. I always build my characters to be efficient. I aim for maximum output, so I don't focus *heavily* on hit points (except for on my tank). I've always carried what I felt was an appropriate amount of hit points and has been working for me, no problem.
Here's what's interesting: One of the characters I play is a cleric. I created it purely for healing and buffing (and turning undead). As a character that does not battle, it's not focused on hit points.
BEFORE the update, I got so much love and praise. People would tell me that I'm a great healer, they wish more people played like I did, and people would frequently request to play with me.
AFTER the update, I join a group and sometimes (not always, but frequently enough to cause grief for me) people will be so quick to judge just by looking at my hit points that they would just boot me from the group.