PDA

View Full Version : New Player friendly builds.

Helexax
06-04-2011, 12:51 PM
So recently ive got a friend to come play DDO with us on Orien. I have some knowledge of the game, playing from 07 to when it went F2P. I am looking for some new player solo and party friendly builds, as we plan to duo our way to lvl 20. Thoughts? Builds? New info i may not know since F2P release?

Not sure how to ask what i want to know.

PresentTense
06-04-2011, 12:56 PM
The best solo or duo builds, imho, will always be a warforged wizard 18/rogue 2 and a warforged favored soul 20 lord of blades. Each can heal themselves or the other, you have access to both arcane and divine magic, the wizard can handle any traps you run into, and the favored soul can melee dps. Either is perfectly fine on its own, they work together amazingly with just two people, and they'll both be welcome in parties. I don't think either one is too complicated for a newer player, and there are lots of examples of these all over the forums. It does mean he/she will have to buy warforgred, and maybe favored soul depending on who takes that role, but I think you'll be happy with the pairing.

Dulcimerist
06-04-2011, 12:58 PM
Melee tends to be a bit easier for new players. Bard Warchanter or Paladin can be fairly easy to play, and come with some handy healing abilities. My first toon was a Barbarian, which was pretty straightforward to play; but the lack of built-in healing was a drawback as a new player at times.

Helexax
06-04-2011, 01:02 PM
At this point it seems unlikely for him to spend any money on this game at all, getting him to premium is a chore i do not look forward to. I do like the sound of that duo though... any way to adapt it to F2P races? ....talking to him now, he seems dead set on an AA for his first toon...thoughts on what i can pair with it?