PDA

View Full Version : Playing with a group only

Amarok44
05-15-2011, 11:56 PM
I'm still pretty new to DnD. Have been playing on and off for a year or two, but never got further than soloing around Stormreach.

I was wondering if it was possible to play the game with pretty much only groups. A few friends of mine are thinking of playing, but I was wondering how long it would take them to get through the solo stuff before we could be challenged properly in a dungeon? I'd like to get them hooked before they have a chance to think about whether they want to get into this type of game ;)

If you have a set group of three people, is it possible to skip doing the instances in Normal? Most of the early ones are soloable, so if we could bump it up a notch for a decent early game challenge that would be good.

VorpalLaugh
05-16-2011, 01:17 AM
Two things you should know.

1. Only one person in the groups needs to be able play the quest at a certain difficulty for the party to do so.
1.b If anyone in the party is VIP they can open a quest on elite right away.

2. Quests become harder the more people there is. This is called Dungeon Scaling.

whitehawk74
05-16-2011, 01:27 AM
There isnt any need for them to do anything SOLO with exception to the SOLO only quests, and they are few and far between.
Sign them up, run around as a party. Roll up a new char for yourself so you can be the leader and show them the sites :)

I regularly play with 2 or 3 friends, we get hirelings if needed, and it goes much smoother than playing with a full party a lot of the time.
You will notice dungeon scaling when going Solo, or a party doing Normal. There is less scaling on Hard, and some people think there is none on Elite.
If you have the 4 basic classes, Heal, Rogue, Tank & Caster (preferably a wizard) then you have all you need.

Amarok44
05-16-2011, 02:57 AM
Ahh great news, cheers folks. :) They've been off MMOs for a while now, so hopefully I can convince them so spend some time here.