PDA

View Full Version : WIZ 18/ Rog 2? Archmage? Pale master?

psychonewb
03-22-2011, 05:50 AM
Hello, I'm new to the D&D scene and multi-classing looks slightly confusing to me. If someone could help me out with a starter build I would really appreciate it.

I'm currently using this as a guide: http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php?t=298187 . Is it good? Should I change anything? I can't be WF or Elf, so a human build would be best I guess?

What are archmage and pale master builds? Is one better than the other? Are there other builds worthwhile or those are the best?

Is a WIZ18/Rog2 multi class a good combo as opposed to pure mage? Do you lose anything because of that?

Any help would be appreciated please.

Thank you very much!

pelaaja
03-22-2011, 06:04 AM
My thoughts: If you're not WF and you're wiz, pick PM for healz

You don't lose much from 2 wiz: Capstone and 2 lvl 9 spell slots are the bgigest ones, i guess. You get SA, able to disable traps, spot doors, and get the evasion.

FuzzyDuck81
03-22-2011, 06:11 AM
I'm assuming you mean you cant go drow? its only 400 favour to unlock though which doesnt take all that long really & if you post an lfm saying you're favour running for it you'll likely get some highbies willing to help out by running you through on elite.

Regular elf could be good for the forthcoming boost to spell penetration in u9, and human is always a reliable option for the extra feat. As to whether to go archmage or pale master.. currently pale master would have the edge in survivability for a fleshy thanks to the ability to self-heal (UMD for wands & scrolls though will counterbalance that somewhat) & that likely wont change even with all the other stuff coming in u9 - an alternative would be halfling with the dragonmarks but that'll hit you in your other feat availability so probably isnt the best bet.