PDA

View Full Version : New player, least responsible class?

Velius2820
02-18-2011, 12:33 PM
Hello, I'm fairly new to ddo. I've played dnd so I'm familiar with the basics but I still find the game very confusing at times. I would like to play a starter character to 20 just to get my bearings and learn the ropes before deciding on a concrete main character. I'm really hoping to play a class that doesn't have tons of responsibilities. Being new to the game, I would rather not be in any stressful situations that will put a damper on my learning experience. For instance, healing or tanking will probably be a no go for me the first time around, and I really enjoy rogues but I wouldn't want to play my rogue through a quest for the first time not knowing where any of the traps are and having to lead the party. So I'm looking for a class that doesn't have much responsibility, so when I inevitably make mistakes it wont be a huge deal.

I'm assuming any class that fills a dps role would be a good option, but I also know that fighters/barbarians for example can be tanks as well as dps so I wouldn't want any misconceptions and get roped into tanking a quest. I was thinking maybe a bard? Taking on a support role seems like a very laid back experience to me. If anyone has any ideas I would be glad to hear them.

Thanks.

bryanmeerkat
02-18-2011, 12:38 PM