PDA

View Full Version : Building a bard for duoing

LadyStella
02-13-2011, 11:55 AM
Greetings all...I've been reading the forums for a couple of days now, and feel more confused than when I started! I'm pretty new to DDO, and will be primarily duo'ing, with a slightly more experienced friend. We're currently playing a cleric (me) and wizard/rogue (him) combo, but his research into our future viability has led him to believe that a bard/favored soul combo might work better. I'm strictly a free-to-play person, so I'd play the bard and he'd do the favored soul. I'm looking for a bard build that is primarily melee-focused, and lets me do the traps, with buffing his healing and casting on the favored soul as the secondary focus.

From what I've read, I think a warchanter bard, either 18bard/2rogue or 16 bard/2 rogue/2 fighter is our best bet for this combination. I'm not positive though, as I do want to help out his casting so maybe Spellsinger is a better option? As I said, I'm free-to-play, so I can't be a drow or anything like that. Does anyone have any advice or can link me a good build that fits this focus and playstyle?

Thank you in advance.

Noctus
02-13-2011, 12:10 PM
16 bard/2 rogue/2 fighter is our best bet for this combination. I'm not positive though, as I do want to help out his casting so maybe Spellsinger is a better option? As I said, I'm free-to-play, so I can't be a drow or anything like that. Does anyone have any advice or can link me a good build that fits this focus and playstyle?

16/2/2 is indeed best for your conditions.

As you want traps and are FTP, i´d recommend Human for the +1 skillpoints per level.

As you´lll only have PB28, i´d recommend going THF, so you dont need to invest into DEX on a attribute-needing character.

Stats:
Strength 16 (all levelups here)
Dexterity 8
Constitution 14
Intelligence 14
Wisdom 8
Charisma 14

1st level: Rogue. Always. For the 1st level bonus skill points.

must-have Feats:
* Extend
* WF:Slashing