PDA

View Full Version : Switching just one weapon on a TWF



ssgcmwatson
01-19-2011, 09:17 PM
So normally my TWF uses two GS scimitars, but there are times that I run across an enemy that is immune to the "special effects" of one of them, e.g. Sorjek is immune to lightning damage, so my Lit II isn't all that helpful.

In situations like that, I am opening my inventory and switching out the less useful weapon for something else (holy, cursespewing, etc).

I would like to be able to switch out just one weapon from the hotbar, rather than needing a dozen different weapon sets for every possible combination. Perhaps a change so that having clicking a one-handed weapon on the hotbar would equip it to your main hand, but shift-clicking would equip it to your off hand.

PopeJual
01-19-2011, 09:31 PM
So normally my TWF uses two GS scimitars, but there are times that I run across an enemy that is immune to the "special effects" of one of them, e.g. Sorjek is immune to lightning damage, so my Lit II isn't all that helpful.

In situations like that, I am opening my inventory and switching out the less useful weapon for something else (holy, cursespewing, etc).

I would like to be able to switch out just one weapon from the hotbar, rather than needing a dozen different weapon sets for every possible combination. Perhaps a change so that having clicking a one-handed weapon on the hotbar would equip it to your main hand, but shift-clicking would equip it to your off hand.

You can already do that if you want to switch your main hand weapon - just drag a single weapon (not a weapon set with only one weapon) straight from your inventory onto your hotbar.

There is no way to swap your secondary weapon without using a weapon set as far as I know.

ssgcmwatson
01-19-2011, 10:30 PM
There is no way to swap your secondary weapon without using a weapon set as far as I know.

Exactly! There are times that I want to switch my main, but others where I want to switch my secondary.

Samadhi
01-19-2011, 11:09 PM
Exactly! There are times that I want to switch my main, but others where I want to switch my secondary.

I just keep two versions of my "primary" weapon set, each one with a different one mainhand, so I can easily swap between a controlled offhand.

Meetch1972
01-19-2011, 11:39 PM
You can have weapon sets consisting of just the off-hand weapon: assign a crappy dagger to the weapon set, then the vorpal khopesh, then trash the dagger, et voila!

But it's painful because to change your secondary weapon you need two clicks - one to equip the secondary and one to re-equip the primary of choice. Plus if you really do want the option of having X in primary then Y in off-hand or vice-versa you either need your inventory open a lot or need to use twice the hot-bar space to present the options. There may also be cases where the temporary unequipping of one item loses you its feature until you next shrine.

Surely this isn't so hard to rectify. I like the shift-click idea to equip a valid 1-hander to the secondary slot. /signed.