PDA

View Full Version : Rework Create Undead into a Line of Magic!

CrescentCalling_5
11-19-2010, 02:16 PM
When I started playing DDO, I skimmed through the list of upper level spells to see what kinda stuff I'd be playing with later on. Now I used to love, I mean LOVE, Neverwinter Nights (not 2, it was a lagstorm >>) and when I saw Create Undead I was ecstatic :D. That spell saved me soooo many times in NwN that it's almost embarrassing (not to mention weird that a chaotic good cleric got its butt saved by a greater mummy lord).

Right now though, everyone tells me how useless that spell is. And after reading the description I can't actually disagree. Right now we can either create a bunch of weak undead monsters or a single semi-powerful undead mummy...and it costs us a black onyx gem. Which IS lame.

Here's my suggestion, remove the Create Undead Spell that we have now, banish it from the game, it sucks. Then implement these 3 age-old spells from PnP which are actually balanced (a CR 5 mummy is not a 6th level spell...)

Animate Dead
Necromancy (Evil)
Level: Cler 3, Sor/Wiz 5
Components: V, S, M (Black Onyx Gem, cut the price for it)
Metamagic: Quicken, Heighten
Saving Throw: Yes, Summon, DC is improved by Focus Feats and Enhancements
Duration: N/A
SR: No
Effect:
The player is able to summon a lesser undead or a number of lesser undead which improves with the player's caster level. Every 30 seconds the undead must make a will save (DC = Spell DC) or remain under the caster's control. The caster is able to control 1 CR worth of undead for every 2 caster levels (max 5).
Summon Types
The caster is able to summon either a CR 1 Skeleton or a CR 2 Zombie. You can only choose a single type of monster to summon and casting this spell again banishes any undead you have already summoned.

Example: