PDA

View Full Version : New tank -> Getting nuked by shaman

the_remover
05-30-2010, 03:19 PM
Hello all.

I'm new to the game, and it was my intent to be a tanking focused character. I'm understanding most of the ideas behind it, and the differences between being a tank in DDO and many other games.

I am having little or no problem for the most part, and people enjoy grouping with me.

The problem I *AM* having:

Shaman!

A common occurrence is that they cast "hold person" on me, and then everything kills me super fast while I'm held in place.
What am I supposed to do here? How is this dealt with? I'm starting to get into harder content where hold person = guarenteed death for me.

I'm currently level 5 and because it's my first character, I chose one of the pre-built paths (Fighter -> Stalwart). I understand these aren't optimal but surely they must be capable of doing their designed job?

Anyways, any guidance would be appreciated. It was disheartening to get instantly nuked by these things constantly last night, and it was obvious I was doing something wrong.

Thanks in advance!

SolarDawning
05-30-2010, 03:23 PM
When Hold Person is cast on you, you make a Will Saving Throw to resist it.
Equipping items which increase your Wisdom or your saving throws will help.

Usually though, it's easier just to kill the shamans first. =)

The other big helpful thing:
You die so quickly when held because all attacks made on your are automatic critical hits.
If you equip an item with Fortification, that gives you a chance to resist a critical, turning it into a normal hit. Light Fortification will block 25% of criticals, Moderate 75%, and Heavy (which you can't get until level 9) will make you immune to critical hits.

See if you can track down a light or Moderate fortification item, that'll help you stay alive while held or otherwise incapacitated.

Scalion
05-30-2010, 03:28 PM