PDA

View Full Version : In-Game Clock



Ggcpres
05-28-2010, 09:02 PM
The DDO interface could use the option to have an in-game clock that keeps the player's RL time (or a different time (s)he sets it to). I'm not asking for the game to be flipped upside down but for a simple clock function with all the power of a wrist watch.

By adding a clock to the interface DDO would look a little slicker and it would help players keep track of time sensitive things both in game and out. this little bit of consideration would go a long way.

Xeraphim
05-28-2010, 09:07 PM
Actually a little set of numbers next to the top of the map(on the inside of the graphic on the top right side) that keeps time for me would be a major boon(I mean where the current Instance Dropdown is).

I like the idea.

Sleepingcap
05-29-2010, 04:09 AM
A clock would be great and so would DDO Local time be awesome aswell - a certain timezone that people can refer to ingame time and arrange updates, meetings, raids and whatnots by that.
It is a well-known fact, that ddo.com is no longer US only, it is more of an international server for players from all over the world. A certain time that would unite all of them would be awesome.

Visty
05-29-2010, 04:29 AM
for just a clock you get a /not signed, just buy one for 5$ and put it next to your screen

but that ddo time thingy and chaning the clock to differant time zones etc sounds appealing

Visty
05-29-2010, 12:52 PM
for just a clock you get a /not signed, just buy one for 5$ and put it next to your screen

but that ddo time thingy and chaning the clock to differant time zones etc sounds appealing

ok, and now tell me what was disruptive in that post that it deserves a neg rep?

jmonty
05-29-2010, 12:55 PM
just use windowed mode

rezo
05-29-2010, 12:56 PM
ok, +1 rep, feel better now, lol.

Kepli_Moonshadow
05-29-2010, 01:27 PM
/not signed.

In Las Vegas there's no windows/clocks in any casinos, for a very solid reason.

THEY DON'T WANT YOU TO LEAVE!!!

MUAHAHAHA MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

*ahem*

Yeah, that.

AyumiAmakusa
05-29-2010, 03:27 PM
/not signed.

In Las Vegas there's no windows/clocks in any casinos, for a very solid reason.

THEY DON'T WANT YOU TO LEAVE!!!

MUAHAHAHA MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

*ahem*

Yeah, that.

This is so true!! Whenever I play DDO, I always have a clock beside me, otherwise I end up playing the game for 8 hours straight because in DDO, time feels like it doesn't exist. So, yeah, please have an in-game clock. I'd really appreciate it.

joneb1999
05-29-2010, 05:00 PM
/signed for a ddo universal time zone that could also be available as a windows gadget or on the ddo website and available as a mobile phone gadget/app so you can keep track of time whilst waiting on guild raids when you are not online.

twix
05-29-2010, 05:49 PM
If you haVe an appointment or a certain time you have to log off why not play in windowed mode?I dont think ive played this game in full screen for years now.More convenient in windowed mode.Not to mention ill have easy access to the web and my music.A clock would be nice and ill sign for this but i dont think its neccesary just one of those convenient things.Maybe if there was a clock i might try full screen i doubt it but i might.Plus i always play with my cellphone near me because,well i dont really go far from my phone ever.But im under the impression that most people have these fandangled cellphone thingies.I could be wrong but i think most of those have a clock,a calender,an alarm,and wow a stopwatch.

Visty
05-29-2010, 05:57 PM
If you haVe an appointment or a certain time you have to log off why not play in windowed mode?
some pcs lag terrible while in windowed mode
that is related to the graphic drivers

i played in windowed mode too till i updated my drivers to be able to play call of duty 4
since then i lag like hell in window mode but fullscreen everything is fine

twix
05-29-2010, 06:02 PM
some pcs lag terrible while in windowed mode
that is related to the graphic drivers

i played in windowed mode too till i updated my drivers to be able to play call of duty 4
since then i lag like hell in window mode but fullscreen everything is fine

Good point. Maybe ill; try full screen just to see if my lag gets better. But a clock is still just a convenient thing if it could be implemented easily im all for it .other then that ill use my cell phone or my computer clock .

Missing_Minds
05-29-2010, 06:21 PM
This is so true!! Whenever I play DDO, I always have a clock beside me, otherwise I end up playing the game for 8 hours straight because in DDO, time feels like it doesn't exist. So, yeah, please have an in-game clock. I'd really appreciate it.

*chuckles*

How about in game warnings of how long you've been playing, and perhapes you should take a break. Aion does this.

J1NG
05-29-2010, 06:25 PM
I'd rather have a /clock function that tells us what time the Server is at. So when a global message out of the blue saying the server will be down between 9am to 11am EST, we know how long there is to go.

I hate converting time. Just keep the servers on EST so we can check.

J1NG

donfilibuster
05-29-2010, 08:03 PM
Yeah, not visible but available as a command.

Havenor
05-29-2010, 08:09 PM
/signed. Pretty much every other MMO I have played has a clock feature as an option, and it was always one of the first things I set up. I have plenty of clocks in my house, and i don't need one next to my computer for the one program I run where I cannot see my desktop clock (I too run in fullscreen for performance reasons).

Xeraphim
05-29-2010, 08:24 PM
for just a clock you get a /not signed, just buy one for 5$ and put it next to your screen

Do you understand that you ask that every person in the world therefore disrupt their current schema to place yet another intrusive power consuming device into their zone of enjoyment/work/focus?

My power strip is already taxed enough! I'll go for the in-game clock, thanks.

As for the /clock command, I won't be typing that in as I crush a lowbie instance, or am powering through a raid. I prefer an active realtime applet.

Though... I suppose at some point I could always go Dualscreen...


Little applet. Syncs to Time.windows.com or time.nist.gov or whatever. Not a part of Turbine servers, just a part of the UI.

Some folks just don't think too far ahead...

dopamine
05-29-2010, 08:34 PM
no one uses a gaming keyboard around here? illuminated LCD screen, just look down and instantly see the time

TheHazShow
05-29-2010, 11:44 PM
Yea I'd want this to happen instead of turning on my iPod, pulling my caller ID to me, or turning my head away from the screen. I wish this was thought of sooner.

Sweetsoul86
05-30-2010, 01:02 AM
no one uses a gaming keyboard around here? illuminated LCD screen, just look down and instantly see the time

Not all gaming keyboards have screens, the logitech G series have screens but I have a steelseries Merc keyboard and there's no lcd screen. I also can't play in window mode due to performance issues so the idea of a clock option in game is really cool. I always keep my cell next to me and have a clock on the wall but the clock on the wall is always slow and I forget that it's slow and lose track of time and end up late for things........I think I need a new wall clock, replacing the batteries doesn't seem to fix the slowness >.> (And yes I've tried just manually changing the time....it's not just wrong because I didn't set it right I SWEAR!! Okay so maybe that's something I might do by mistake but that's not the point!)

Back on topic, I love the idea.

/signed

Visty
05-30-2010, 04:34 AM
Do you understand that you ask that every person in the world therefore disrupt their current schema to place yet another intrusive power consuming device into their zone of enjoyment/work/focus?

My power strip is already taxed enough! I'll go for the in-game clock, thanks.

As for the /clock command, I won't be typing that in as I crush a lowbie instance, or am powering through a raid. I prefer an active realtime applet.

Though... I suppose at some point I could always go Dualscreen...


Little applet. Syncs to Time.windows.com or time.nist.gov or whatever. Not a part of Turbine servers, just a part of the UI.

Some folks just don't think too far ahead...

so you have no cellphone at all?
no watch you carry all day anyway?
no clock at the wall in our kittchen?

Uchuujin-San
05-30-2010, 05:22 AM
having an in game local time clock seems a bit redundant, as Visty says, watch, phone, ipod, etc.. server time clock i'd certainly love for one to be implemented.. having to work out 2 different times of daylight savings, being halfway around the world and having guildies from all over the world it would definitely make things easier to organise.

Beherit_Baphomar
05-30-2010, 05:57 AM
You'll never get an ingame, realtime clock. Just like the dude up there said there's a reason casinos don't have windows and clocks.

Ganolyn
05-30-2010, 01:12 PM
*chuckles*

How about in game warnings of how long you've been playing, and perhapes you should take a break. Aion does this.


Or you could just have your wife/girlfriend smack you in the head as she walks by, works for mine!

Sweetsoul86
05-30-2010, 03:32 PM
Or you could just have your wife/girlfriend smack you in the head as she walks by, works for mine!

.....I am the girlfriend....my boyfriend is more addicted than I am, this does not work. :(

joneb1999
05-30-2010, 04:06 PM
The whole point is to have an in game clock based ona universal DDO time unless Im mistaken so that when someone in the USA tel someone in EUrope raid is at such and suchthey can easily keep up with it without working out a time difference. [EDIT] Thats not the suggestion but thats what it should be. LoL