PDA

View Full Version : What on earth is going on with my to-hit?

Cardtrick
05-22-2010, 11:55 PM
I'm a pretty new player. I leveled a character up to level 8 a few months back, then left the game (just didn't have time to play) . . . and now I'm back and at level 6 with my current (second) character. However, I have a lot of experience with other D20-based CRPGs, so I understand most of the rules/spells/builds pretty well.

What's puzzling me, though, is my to-hit. It is constantly jumping around. I see this both in my inventory screen, and in the combat logs (from the textbox). I'm not talking about small increases/decreases -- it varies between 26 and 12. This is often the difference between hitting on anything but a natural 1 and missing more than half the time.

I know one factor is movement -- my TH drops by 4 when I'm moving (which is fine, since I don't have spring attack). But as for the rest of it . . . I just have no idea. I'm not seeing any debilitating effects in the upper right of my screen. I'm using the same weapon, the same equipment, and the same spells. And yet . . . my TH is different almost every time I look at it.

Are there known things that could cause this? Or, even better -- is there a way for me to see what is currently affecting my to-hit score? (Like how you can hover your mouse over an ability score on the character sheet to get a breakdown.)

EDIT:
To-hits of 13, 15, 25, and 26 seem to be the most common when I look.

EDIT 2:
I've just taken some time to actually calculate what I should have fora to-hit, if I understand this correctly.