PDA

View Full Version : The "Magic" problem

TheJusticar
05-21-2010, 09:51 PM
I've been playing this game for circa three years now and I've seen a dramatic veer toward the "high number" game. And I know it might be way too late to fix, but I'd really appreciate if devs could muse about this issue in their coffee break time :D

Trash mobs/minions with 5-10K HPs, Bosses with 50K+ HPs and other nonsense like that. I personally don't buy the "PnP was desinged for 4-5 PCs, not 12" argument because it's the same nonsense in 6-man instances AND the numbers aren't multiplied by, say, 3 or 4. No, some NPC HPs are multiplied 50-fold. Nothing to do with making it a challenge, everything to do with excessive magic available to PCs.

We have GS items ML11, GS Weaps: ML12 and some out there ML8! lvl2 PCs dual wielding +2/3 Icy Burst of PG (some times yet another elemental burst on top of that), PC AC in the 100s, it is mundane to see a raging/buffed barb breaking through 1K HP, Casters with mental abilities above 40 also common place and of course ML9 +6 stat items. Any DM worth their salt would scuff at those numbers. Truth is, most GS weaps should be ML20 and the items ML17-19. When you have a weapon that still rocks on epic setting that you can use at lvl11-12 you know there's something wrong with the game design and planning. Adding Icy Burst recipe to weaps should've increased their ML by 4. But I guess it's all about marketing. PCs see five numbers (i.e. a + b +c + d + e) on top of a mob's head on a crit and "omg I'm a DPS beast this is so cool omg omg omg" completely forgetting that such weapon is in direct violation of 3.5 ML rules which this game is supposed to be based on (don't say house rule, pls, no group would ever play with such lax ML requirements).