PDA

View Full Version : xpacs to buy (or AVOID) as a soloist

MithrilSoul
04-20-2010, 11:24 AM
Hi all,

DDO is my "second" MMO and the one I play when I mostly want to solo. In my other game I'm a guild officer, we do groups, raids, you name it, it's very social and it's fun but...sometimes I just want to "get away" from everything (and everyone! haha) and spend a little time soloing. DDO is where I go when I am in that kind of mood.

I've been here for about a month now, and enjoying it. I'm not VIP but I am p2p, and so far have bought Sharn, Catacombs, Deleras, and Tangleroot. Maybe one more that's slipping my mind. Anyways, my highest level character is now 10, so I am trying to figure out what to buy next.

I was considering getting Necro 1 which sounded kind of fun, until I read somewhere there is a quest in the chain there that requires 4 switches to be activated simultaneously. Obviously not a good choice for someone in my shoes.

So my questions are:

1. Are there other xpacs that absolutely CANNOT be done solo (with a single henchman)?
2. What xpacs in the level 8-20 range are especially "good" for a solo character? (And here "good' could mean a number of things: easier than normal to do solo, having end rewards particularly useful to a solo character, or heck even just "this is a ton of fun to try to pull off alone.")

In case it matters, I guess I would say my "main" is a level 10 ranger (actually 9 ranger/1 rogue), arcane archer build. I also have a paladin and a monk, both in the level 7-8 range. But honestly, I like all three characters pretty much equally and play them more-or-less equally, it just depends what mood I am in.

Any suggestions at all are most welcome. :)

tihocan
04-20-2010, 11:54 AM
Restless Isles, Vault of Night, Necro IV, Vale of Twilight, Devils of Shavarath have raid parts that can't be soloed (or at least, are extremely difficult to solo).