PDA

View Full Version : Noob Soloist lvl 6 getting creamed

ThreeFinger
04-11-2010, 07:06 AM
I've been playing DDO for about 2 months and have a level 6 elf (4ranger/1ro/1fighter). I've been playing solo with hirelings. I attempted Lair of Summoning on normal with a cleric hireling: took the left path, approached the chest in the middle, the gates went down and the Fire and Ice mephits had us down in about 10 seconds - I couldn't even land a blow. Have I reached the level where one has to group in order to succeed or am I just a crummy player?

Limey
04-11-2010, 07:13 AM
In general it's more time efficent to group. Some quests are harder to solo than others though.

Aurora1979
04-11-2010, 07:15 AM
I would say, unless your fairly well equiped, Its more a case of biting off more then you can chew. As opposed to you being a bad player.

Effectivly your trying to fight as a level 4 in a level 5 quest. Also you need fire resistence in there but thats pretty obvious.

taurean430
04-11-2010, 07:16 AM
I am not a veteran player.

That said, I offer you the following suggestions:

1. The room you speak of in the Lair of Summoning has a trap box on it that can be found on the far wall when you walk into the room. It disables the elemental jets in the middle of the room that fire off (in addition to the mephit spawn), don't step into the middle of the room. Disable that trap to minimize damage taken. To reach the box, you must travel along the border of the room and not step into the middle.

2. If the trap is disabled, and you use resist fire/cold (as a ranger you should have the spell) the mephits are irritating, but not deadly. If for some reason you are not using that spell, drink pots. Or get the buffs from House J or House P.