PDA

View Full Version : Why am I missing so much?

Oktai
02-28-2010, 01:28 PM
I'm new to DDO, and I've played some D&D games before, but I don't know the actual factors and details of it.

I've created a fighter, and I've decided to go for a whirling Dervish (http://ddowiki.com/page/Whirling_Dervish) build, and I have two scimitars, a Two handed fighting feat, and the Valenar Elf Melle Damage I enhancement to add to the damage and attacks with my Scimitars.

Yet, I swing about 10 times, and 9 of those swings, are misses. It's bugging me, and I don't know what to do.

Can anyone give me some tips in how I should proceed? Thank you.

Horrorscope
02-28-2010, 01:32 PM
Uh oh. I feel son of glancing blows coming. There is a to hit roll that you have to beat the enemies resistance with. When you don't you miss. If you are new and not built well, you can miss more. This is/was one of the big reason new players left, it was different and they didn't like or understand. Turbine I believe has been doing a lot to make those misses fewer and fewer. Hearing this, they might be making more changes, to the anger of some old time purists.

Kaeldur
02-28-2010, 01:33 PM
Could you post some numbers? What is your level and what is your attack bonus? Are you following that template EXACTLY the same? If not, what are your ability scores (strength, dexterity, etc)?

Sirea
02-28-2010, 01:35 PM
You need the Two Weapon Fighting line of feats if you're going to use two scimitars, and Oversized TWF helps as well. Two Handed Fighting is for two-handed weapons (greataxe/greatsword/falchion etc.) I think you got your feats confused.

sephiroth1084
02-28-2010, 01:39 PM
Okay, a few things.