PDA

View Full Version : New player - help with Ranger

Gwaihir
01-22-2010, 04:17 AM
Hi,

I'm pretty new to ddo.com. I've started game as elven ranger - archetype: Arcane Archer. I assume it doesn't matter what character you are playing - fun is the most important thing. However I don't want to gimp my character soon, so i would like to know whether my chosen path is way to go.

I'm not familiar with v3.5 rules (I have played a lot of AD&D 2nd Edition PnP ang computer games too). So I'm not sure what feats and enhancments i should concentrate on.

So far I have lvl3 and these stats:
Str 14, Dex 20 (18 base +1 feat +1 enchantment), Con 12, Int 9 (8 base +1 enchantment), cha 8
I have invested some points Hide (5), Move Silently (5), Jump (6), Spot (6), Balance (3), Tumble (1) - i guess those were invested automatically by chosing arcane archer path.
Enchantments: Ranger sprint boost, aerenal elf melee dmg, elven ranged dmg, elven perception 1, ranger dexterity 1.

Now I have +1 longbow and molin's great axe or should i use two weapons (amber longsword, shortsword +1, hand axe +1 - i will pick 2 of course)?

Where do you recomend to lvl up? Should I return to Korthos and repeat quest with groups (elite difficulty) or solo (i have trouble with some elite quests) or should i slowly explore stormreach harbour (i just made one quest twice and was killed when trying to kill 200 kobolds on next quest).

What gear should i have? Do you often use hirelings? Do you use special attacks rangers (i assume warriors) have?

Thanks for help.

Gwaihir

P.S. You can find my elven ranger Gerana in Cannith world.

r3dl4nce
01-22-2010, 04:30 AM