PDA

View Full Version : What kind of Cleric should i be?

Thadius17
01-22-2010, 03:48 AM
I've got a dilemma. I'll be mostly playing in a group with my friends. I love to heal, but i hate to be healing ALL the time. I like to cause some damage from time to time, but one thing that bothers me is mana. I like to keep it high, since you don't know what's around the corner, but i don't think it's possible with the offensive spells. My hit-rate is quite low, and so is my damage. I can see huge hatred towards battle clers, because of being selfish and focusing on fighting. If i was a battle cler, i'd mostly focus on keeping the group alive.
I'm fairly new to this game, so if i got anything wrong, please correct me. Here are some questions:

1. I've read that battle clers have basically the same ability to heal. Is that true ? Will it be sufficient for my group? (We also have a bard)
2. What about mana? Can it regenerate only in the rest place ? Is it sufficient to cast and heal ?
3. I have chosen this build: http://forums.ddo.com/showpost.php?p=1718358&postcount=6 but i see that it's pretty old. Is it still any good? I want to be kinda solo-capable, but my focus is party play. To be usefull, both in damage and in healing, but mostly in healing.

Right now i'm still lvl 2, but i don't want to roll a battle cler or sth later, because i won't be able to catch up with my group.

Visty
01-22-2010, 03:57 AM
1. your ability to heal depends on your enhancements feats and items only, so yes, BCs can heal as good as any other cleric
2. you regain sp only while resting at a shrine or using one of the following items: mana pots, spellstoring ring, abbot gloves, krthos archivist necky, yugoloth int potion, quorion cookie (that woundrous power one)
3. yes, this build is still viable. though you have to look that besides bladebarrier clerics dont have any good damaging spells, so they should focus on crowd control and instadeath spells