PDA

View Full Version : Can hotbars be fixed?



Catholicon
01-21-2010, 06:01 PM
I know icons can be locked to hotbars, but can hotbars be locking in place on the screen? Sometimes in the heat of battle instead of clicking on a spell I accidentally drag my hotbar instead.

Is it possible to lock the position of hotbars so that they don't get dragged out of position when I'm trying to click on a spell?

Impaqt
01-21-2010, 06:03 PM
Yes. I think the UI Optin is "Lock hotbars"

CTRL-+ By default? Grrrr have to go check now

Its actually "Lock Shortcut icons to the shortcut bar"

It locks the bars in place too. It is indeed CTRL +

Calebro
01-21-2010, 06:13 PM
Ctrl/+ is correct.
I lock all my bars.
Note that you can still drag all but your main bar when they're locked, but only by dragging from the bottom edge of the frame, which is small enough that it doesn't happen by accident very often at all.

I-ku-u
01-28-2010, 09:53 PM
Ctrl/+ is correct.
I lock all my bars.
Note that you can still drag all but your main bar when they're locked, but only by dragging from the bottom edge of the frame, which is small enough that it doesn't happen by accident very often at all.

I second the complaint of the OP, and point out that you've basically confirmed the problem - how to lock the position of the bars? 'Cause CTRL-+ doesn't cut it.

mattrim
01-29-2010, 02:48 PM
Ctr = (or ctr +, same key) locks hotbars in place and locks icons. As a note, it is NOT the + or = on your numberpad.

I-ku-u
01-30-2010, 03:37 PM
Ctr = (or ctr +, same key) locks hotbars in place and locks icons. As a note, it is NOT the + or = on your numberpad.

If what you say were true, then I wouldn't be able to move the non-main bars by mousing over their bottom edge and then dragging. But I can, so ctrl-= only prevents the main bar from being dragged.

Chaosprism
01-30-2010, 08:23 PM
It's a bug thats been there from day 1, i've bug reported it multiple times, it keeps getting missed. (or de-priorities) But it's one of the most annoying bugs interface wise.

Ctrl - = doesnt stop the bars from being moved by the bottom edges, it also doesnt stop you dragging icons to empty spots.


When I lock the bars, I want NOTHING to move about those quickbars, the location, what's in them, nothing.
The only thing that should be valid is dragging an icon from my feat/skill/spell sheet to an EMPTY quickbar slot.

Aschbart
02-25-2010, 06:28 PM
The problem is, not only does Ctrl-+ not fix hotbars, it also doesn't fix all commands I've put in. I found that mostly Icons on my hotbars at the right edge of the screen can still be moved. Mind you, only some of them. But annoying nevertheless. Moreover the phenomenom can't even be reproduced reliably - one moment I can move an icon to another space, then it's locked in that space and can't be moved back. And when I drag out a copy from my feat or spell list to the original place, I cannot move the copy either. Or maybe, sometimes I can.

I wouldn't consider this a minor issue in a realtime game: many classes need a lot of hotbars to be able to access all relevant abilities, and thus the available screen becomes cluttered with them. And when you try to click on just about anything in the heat of combat, it's quite easy to accidentally move a hotbar or worse, move an Icon outside an hotbar and have it disappear from your UI. Not only are you losing time because you couldn't finish your action, you also just lost quick access to the very ability you now desperately need to be using!