PDA

View Full Version : Can you lock screens in place?



Merian
01-08-2010, 10:18 PM
Is there a way to lock screens ( like inventory, character sheet, quest journal, ect ) in place, so when you log in they are where you left them?

chessmaster4242
01-19-2010, 11:10 AM
Sadly there is no way to lock the windows in place. You can lock buttons to hotbars but that's it.

However, this is also one of the few games that allows you to have all of the windows open at the same time and can move all of those windows around. You'd have to do a heck of a good job organizing to keep things from overlapping if they were all locked in place. I'm constantly shuffling windows around as I open / close them so I can see everything. If they were locked in place it'd be very difficult to do that. That's why most games only allow 1 or 2 windows to be open at a time.

Don't get me wrong, I like the idea of being able to lock the windows, but given the design of the user interface it would probably be more work than it's worth.

RaidMR
02-17-2010, 03:48 PM
Sadly there is no way to lock the windows in place. You can lock buttons to hotbars but that's it.

<snip>

Don't get me wrong, I like the idea of being able to lock the windows, but given the design of the user interface it would probably be more work than it's worth. Couldn't window location determined by a fixed point (say the top left corner of a window) and the window size (both measured in pixels)?

I think this wouldn't be that hard to implement as there are a lot of windows that remember it's previous location (like the social pannel, the shared bank window, favour and quest pannels, etc.). However one problem to overcome is dynamic scaling, or making sure the window doesn't go off screen if you change resolutions.

I'd love it if I didn't have to keep moving my inventory window off to the side... it just won't stay put!