PDA

View Full Version : Is there a way to move items between inventory tabs?



brian14
01-05-2010, 08:24 AM
I'd like to keep all my rings grouped in one tab; likewise all my goggles and necklaces. That way when I need to change an item, I would not have to hunt for it among four tabs. Is that possible?

Visty
01-05-2010, 08:24 AM
just drag and drop it where you want it. to swap a tab, drop it at the tab symbol where you want it in

Araminta
01-05-2010, 08:31 AM
but you'll need to keep reshuffling things as it won't drop into the hole it left when you're done using it.

Lockable inventory positions would be GRRRRRRRRREAT but I don't think they are an option - please correct me if I am wrong. Although my partner (who is wise) points out that you would end up losing inv. space because nothing could go in the hole you just created cos it had been locked. Having said that his inv tabs aare neat and mine are a mess. Go figure.

Back to the drawing board I reckon.

The only other advice I can recommend is making full use of your quickbar slots (although this ends up with a cluttered screen and only work really well if the tooltips are not being flaky.)

Pfamily
01-05-2010, 08:45 AM
Nope, no lockable inventory...something of a PIA but there you go.

Remember; your inventory will fill from the left tab to the right tab, and from the top of the window to the bottom. If you just looted something, it will drop into the first available spot.

Rearranging inventory is the single greatest time-sink in the game...lol!

Dragon.Star
01-05-2010, 09:05 AM
There is an easy solution to keep your inventory neat for the most part. As others have said item will drop into the first available slot as you pick items up or switch items.

The way I set up my inventory, my items ended up going back to where they were for the most part.

Here is what I do



1) Put all your non-equippable items(potions, materials, bags) in your first tab or two.
2) Not organize and put all your Non Weapon, Shields, Scrolls and wands into your next slot, I usually group them up in this order (Armor, Goggles, Helmet, Necklace, Trinket, Cloak, Belt, Ring, Gloves, Boots & Bracers).
3) Now I put everything else in; usually in this order Wands, Scrolls, Shields, Weapons.


If you follow these little guidelines, the only thing you will have to look for are the items in point 3, All loot the you aquire will end up falling in your remaining slots. I have never had to go searching for the items in points 1 & 2.

Hope that helps.

brian14
01-05-2010, 09:13 AM
but you'll need to keep reshuffling things as it won't drop into the hole it left when you're done using it.
I don't see why. Say, I have 5 rings. Two are equipped, and three are grouped in one corner of Tab 1 (for example). When I swap ring of Haggling for ring of Ogre Power, the latter goes into same slot in Tab 1 where ring of Haggling used to be. No matter which two rings are equipped, the other three stay in that same corner. No holes appear, and nothing else will drop into that corner.

Zenako
01-05-2010, 09:27 AM
I don't see why. Say, I have 5 rings. Two are equipped, and three are grouped in one corner of Tab 1 (for example). When I swap ring of Haggling for ring of Ogre Power, the latter goes into same slot in Tab 1 where ring of Haggling used to be. No matter which two rings are equipped, the other three stay in that same corner. No holes appear, and nothing else will drop into that corner.

That often works when you swap a single item like that. however, when you are swapping things like Weapon Sets, the code has to look for two spots to drop the currently equiped items, and it ends up dropping at least one of them in a new end of the options open spot, while the other weapon will end up in one of the freshly vacated spots. Or when you change from two weapons to a 2 handed weapon (Bow, Grewataxe, whatever). The old set takes two spots, the one you are now using only took one spot.

To be able to easily cover all kinds of exchanges, the code appears to just look for the first open spots to drop stuff.

You can also see this behavior with certain consumable items.

If you have arrows in your inventory, and you run out of arrows in your active stack and quiver, then the code will grab the first stack of arrows that appears in the inventory counting from page1 top left corner and moving across and down that page, until page 2, etc... Same thing with Thieves tools, and spell ingredients. (And even Healing and Repair Kits if you manage to still stock them...)

Think of the slots as being numbered 1 thru 60 (and later 1 - 80 and then 1 - 100 when you get more backpack space). The code looks thru those spots in order to find the first available solution to the request (be it a spot to dump something, or a spot to use something from, or a spot to place new treasure into.)

brian14
01-05-2010, 11:05 AM
That often works when you swap a single item like that. however, when you are swapping things like Weapon Sets, the code has to look for two spots to drop the currently equiped items, and it ends up dropping at least one of them in a new end of the options open spot, while the other weapon will end up in one of the freshly vacated spots. Or when you change from two weapons to a 2 handed weapon (Bow, Grewataxe, whatever). The old set takes two spots, the one you are now using only took one spot.
I understand this. That's why I was only looking at rings, necklaces, goggles and trinkets.

And as of yet, I have few enough weapons that all useful combinations fit in weapon set slots.