PDA

View Full Version : *** can someone try&help me??



FatalySiCc
12-31-2009, 04:35 AM
I have never played be4&I just got done DL this. I had just got finished completly creating my character&I was waiting4the character to finish DL at the main menu, when my internet cut off. Now when i try to open the game at all i get this weird message saying "There is an invalid character in the given encoding. Line1, Position1 bla bla bla....... I cant even get the game to start2load now HELP ME PLEASE i waisted2much time DL this game as it is LMAO HELP

Aussieee
12-31-2009, 04:38 AM
I wish I knew how. There was a time when people were getting stuck and kept saying that the charachter is stil loaded in game.

ProdigalGuru
12-31-2009, 04:43 AM
Try a new server.

FatalySiCc
12-31-2009, 04:46 AM
I cant even get the game to pop up from my desktop to get that far!! when i double click at the desktop to bring up the game it says that message, so i cant even get to the main menu to change servers or create new character or nothing lol...

r3dl4nce
12-31-2009, 04:49 AM
Uninstall & reinstall from start

techwench
12-31-2009, 04:53 AM
You could try searching the forums for "invalid character encoding".

The first result shows this post (http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php?p=2643698#post2643698) with a link to this set of troubleshooting steps (http://na6.salesforce.com/_ui/selfservice/pkb/PublicKnowledgeSolution/d?orgId=00D80000000L4s5&id=50180000000QBUU&retURL=%2Fsol%2Fpublic%2Fsolutionbrowser.jsp%3Fsea rch%3DThere%2Bis%2Ban%2Binvalid%2Bcharacter%26cid% 3D02n800000001SCe%26orgId%3D00D80000000L4s5).

If that doesn't work, fill out a help ticket (http://www.ddo.com/component/content/article/486-tech-ticket).

whysper
12-31-2009, 05:04 AM
Above should work just fine. Though with all those 2's and 4's randomly scattered maybe the encoding problem is following you to the forums too?

FatalySiCc
12-31-2009, 05:31 AM
ill try to DL this again see what happens..... good lookin out tho.... thx..

Azmich
12-31-2009, 08:56 AM
Above should work just fine. Though with all those 2's and 4's randomly scattered maybe the encoding problem is following you to the forums too?

This was just too funny this morning. :]

To the OP, good luck, hope that works to getting your game fixed.