PDA

View Full Version : Melee Rogue Question

psychic_cowman
12-15-2009, 08:16 AM
My first post and I'm willing to admit I may be the most newb person ever. I have no DnD experience at all and have only ever played console RPGs (oblivion and most recently Dragon Age, for which I'm having the same problem). I wanted to know, is it viable to create a pure melee rogue? My problem is I hate bows, but don't like the idea of being weighed down by mountains of armor (I'm not sure if there are cons to wearing heavy armor though) and I'm very ocd when it comes to anything that's locked. Any advice on if it's a good idea? And what race would be best for this (I keep wanting to select a dwarf, cuz I like dwarves. I don't know why)?

Kralgnax
12-15-2009, 08:23 AM
My first post and I'm willing to admit I may be the most newb person ever. I have no DnD experience at all and have only ever played console RPGs (oblivion and most recently Dragon Age, for which I'm having the same problem). Welcome to DDO!
I wanted to know, is it viable to create a pure melee rogue? Yes! Try The Hired Blade (http://forums.ddo.com/showpost.php?p=1718372&postcount=11)or something like it.
My problem is I hate bows, but don't like the idea of being weighed down by mountains of armor (I'm not sure if there are cons to wearing heavy armor though) and I'm very ocd when it comes to anything that's locked. Any advice on if it's a good idea? Sure, why not?
And what race would be best for this (I keep wanting to select a dwarf, cuz I like dwarves. I don't know why)? The build shown is halfling, but dwarf is fine.

Have fun!

tihocan
12-15-2009, 08:55 AM
Yep, melee rogue definitely works.

psychic_cowman
12-15-2009, 09:07 AM
so far so good. I'm not hitting things as much as I want, but I'm sure some leveling will help that.

cupajoe
12-15-2009, 09:19 AM