PDA

View Full Version : I feel an addiction coming!

Akordya
11-19-2009, 06:26 PM
First of all, well met everyone!

I started playing DDO only a few days ago after playing many games out there and trying different playstyles. I started with Everquest then moved to Everquest 2, sidetracked to Dark Age of Camelot, UO, World of Warcraft, Age of Conan, LotR, Guild Wars and Warhammer. I roleplayed (a lot), I simply quested and I even raided top content in a few of those games. But all of them, with their strenghts and weaknesses, lacked in something. A something that only pen and paper roleplay games could reach.

So a few days ago, I downloaded DDO to try something different between raids and pvp. After 30 min I was sold! Graphics were very nice, character creation was fine and how you can create a unique class/multiclass fitting your playstyle and needs instead of ending with a cooky cutter build (because any other builds are not that great), was awesome. I admit I am still trying to figure out many aspect of the gameplay and will probably do it for quite some time, but it's all part of the fun!

One aspect I looove is to hear the voice of the *gamemaster* at various places in the crawls! And the puzzles of course, and the way opponents are trying to flank you with the casters and ranged trying their best to stay away from melee, and the healers actually healing! DDO is challenging! Well on the class I am trying anyway (rogue). Another aspect is the realistic graphics. I thought Korthos was nice, but when I saw Cerulean Hills my jaw dropped! I also was ambushed by orcs at that point =D yay for bandits not staying like idiots in the middle of the road but actually using terrain and covers!

Well, I am now VIP and cancelled my other game subscription! I am having such a thrill after only 3-4 days I know my money is well placed and that this game will be my new addiction! AND I still have to enjoy many parts of the game like grouping =)

Now I do have a few questions: