PDA

View Full Version : metamagics for cleric

Shumanfoo
11-18-2009, 09:01 AM
I'm looking at re-building my lvl3 Cleric. I kinda like him but now that I have some experience with him I feel like remaking him since I'm only lvl3. I keep going back and forth on what meta magic feats to pick up. What ones are necessary mid to late game and what are just handy? I plan to focus on healing and CC.

I like extend and quicken for sure. Debating emp vs emp healing (with associated enhancements).

Wondering if max or heighten are necessary at all. I can see some benefit of maxing a heal when you need one, but emp heal would give a nice boost and much more efficient. Is heighten needed for some CC spells? In the end which 7 feats would you take? I like dwarf, but if I need an additional feat I could take human.

Possible Feats to take with Cleric20:
Extend
Quicken
Empower Spell/Emp Healing (I'd pick one)
Max Spell
Heighten Spell
Mental Toughness
Imp Mental Toughness
Spell Penetration
Greater Spell Penetration
Spell Focus?
Toughness?

Thanks,
Shu

Shumanfoo
11-18-2009, 09:06 AM
I'm looking at the Cleric spells trying to see which CC/debuff's I'd even be using. Is it more common to be adding some spell damage than CC/debuff?

DoctorWhofan
11-18-2009, 10:46 AM
depends what kind of cleric you want to be. I took Maximse on my clerics because it works on most healing spells and most offensive spells. I DIDN'Ttake Empower healing becauseit only works on healing spells.

Then again, my clerics are generalists healer/offensive casters.

Kralgnax
11-18-2009, 11:28 AM
Despite the somewhat loopy OP, the thread A warning to healing clarics about maximize... (http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php?t=214082) has a great deal of good discussion about cleric metamagic in general, and the importance of maximize.

Extend is really great at lower levels, as otherwise your buffs are gone in a flash, once you get past 10 it becomes more optional and can reasonably be traded out.

tihocan