PDA

View Full Version : Macro's ...yes or no?



CaptainPurge
11-17-2009, 09:51 AM
Seems to be conflicting info on macro's. Can I set up my G15 KB to use some simple macro's / keybinding type? Or does that get detected and get u banned or something. What is allowable and disallowable?

Goldeneye
11-17-2009, 09:57 AM
I know a few people who utilize the G15. As long as you are not automating tasks, you should be fine.

Cedwin
11-17-2009, 10:00 AM
Seeing how DDO is compatible with a G15 keyboard, as in it shows hitpoints and spellpoints on the LED display (meaning the developers added in the support), it's very unlikely that they would ban you for using one.

Zenako
11-17-2009, 10:02 AM
Even if you could, what legitimate reason would you want to use a macro for in this game? The combat is so dynamic, even in boss raid fights, that using a macro will probably just get you killed quickly. Hand - eye coordination and rapid twitch and moves are paramount to staying alive in high end encounters.

If however you are just talking about moving the key mapping from your keyboard to the G15 for the net effect, no issues I could see.

Cedwin
11-17-2009, 10:05 AM
You could do something like map Extend to 0, and Haste to 9, then make a macro that does 0 pause 9 pause 0.

It wouldn't be exploiting, just more of a convenience.

smatt
11-17-2009, 10:06 AM
Seems to be conflicting info on macro's. Can I set up my G15 KB to use some simple macro's / keybinding type? Or does that get detected and get u banned or something. What is allowable and disallowable?


Many people are using the G-15 macros as well as comparables in this way. This isn't the type of macro that would ever get you in trouble. If you really want some clarification, perhaps a PM to Tolero on these forums. She's usually able to answer a question or 2 when she gets time.

Cedwin
11-17-2009, 10:09 AM
This isn't the type of macro that would ever get you in trouble.

Most gaming sites refer to them as "bots"

I've seen them for other games, but I don't see a reason to make one for DDO. There's no farming, no mining, and no respawns. All of the things a typical bot would do are not present in this game.

CaptainPurge
11-17-2009, 10:23 AM
You could do something like map Extend to 0, and Haste to 9, then make a macro that does 0 pause 9 pause 0.

It wouldn't be exploiting, just more of a convenience.

Yes this kind of example is easy to implement on the G15 kb.

kamimitsu
11-17-2009, 11:26 AM
G15 Macros are great for gear-swapping moments.

I use them on my rogue for trapsmithing (swap goggles, search, swap back, etc.) and UMDing scrolls (swap to UMD item(s), throw scroll, swap back).

You can also use them to set up "gear sets". That is, if you have a 'sneaky gear set' with all your hide and MS items, you could configure a macro to swap gear quickly. Or an 'AC set', 'DPS set', 'Fire Set', 'CC set', etc.

Keyboard macros are A-OK (they're really just speeding up your keystrokes anyway). The macros that are not OK are ones that would farm XP, loot, or plat.

smatt
11-18-2009, 09:57 AM
Most gaming sites refer to them as "bots"

I've seen them for other games, but I don't see a reason to make one for DDO. There's no farming, no mining, and no respawns. All of the things a typical bot would do are not present in this game.

Hmm, I didn't know that..... :rolleyes:

There are indeed other types of macros, and there are a rather few that could be written that would get you in DDO-trouble....

Let's just say that Turbine is currently not worried about the current G-15 keyboard macros... Heck, you don't even need a g-15 to do simple mult-key typ[e macros.... These are simply functions that work like the weapon sets they have in game.