PDA

View Full Version : The Most Fun MMO I've Ever Played...

madmartyr72
11-16-2009, 10:20 AM
Hello everyone,

I just wanted to take a few minutes and post my impressions on DDO. I'm a new player (my second week) to DDO and wow has it been a good ride so far!

First, a little about myself. I am an MMO vet and a 15 year PnP AD&D vet (old 1st and 2nd edition DM, based off Greyhawk and Forgotten Realms campaign settings). In 96, I was introduced to MMO's in the form of Ultima Online through a friend and sadly, ended my good ole pnp D&D days :( Since that time, I have played numerous MMO's (EQ1 and EQ2, WoW, SWG, LotRO, and most recently, Aion...not to mention at least trying out many others), and I have always been on the lookout for a game that had that little special something; a little bit of that magic and imagination that I enjoyed for so many years playing pnp D&D. EQ1 came close for me, but in the end, it too was lacking...

About three weeks ago a really good friend of mine informed me that he had just downloaded DDO and that it was F2P. When DDO first came out, I paid it no mind (I think I was still playing WoW). This time around, I was inbetween MMO's having just canceled my Aion account after the first month (anyone that has played that game would understand why lol!) so I figured I would give DDO a try. I am glad I did...