PDA

View Full Version : Expanded skills

Schmoe
11-10-2009, 08:44 AM
I'm relatively new to this game, but so far I'm enjoying it quite a bit. Having played PnP for 20+ years, though, in some ways it feels like it's only half the game it could be. The combat aspect has been done pretty well, but there's so much more to DnD, and skills can play a much larger role than they do now. I'd like to see some new skills added, and the use for some existing skills expanded.

1. Social skills These currently are used to influence combat, either by shifting creatures' attentions or gaining a combat advantage. There are many more things these could be used for.

Quest NPC's with meaningful dialog choices - Introduce quest NPC's that can open up new quest paths or goals if a party member has the appropriate skill and makes a skill check. We already have this in the form of rune-locked doors, secret doors, and locked doors, this would just expand the options of "unlocking" content to the social skills as well.

Diplomacy - Include the possibility to gain a small (maybe 5%) xp bonus to a quest when the player talks to the quest turn-in NPC, if the skill check is passed. The skill check DC could be modified based on quest difficulty. This represents the player sweet-talking the NPC and pleasing him/her more.

Intimidate/Bluff - Include the possibility to raise quest turn-in reward levels by +1, if the skill check is passed. This represents the player conning or strong-arming the NPC to get a bigger reward