PDA

View Full Version : New player - some simple questions.

gripssl
11-07-2009, 12:49 PM
I have rolled a Rogue and a Bard both human. I will F2P until I get a good feel for the game.

So I am just starting out and I have played a rogue on WoW for over 4 years and I love the idea of a rogue here finding and disarming traps and all that good stuff. My questions are for the Rogue since it will be my main for now.

Is just about any build viable as long as I am not trying to do things other classes can do better than me?

Hybrid builds seem to be pretty normal around here upon researching the forums. Are there pure builds that do well?

Are clickable skills worth using or is just holding the LMB and trying to gain side and rear positioning on mobs the thing to do?

If I am sneaking and engage a mob and he eventually knocks me out of sneak does it make sense to reapply the sneak skill while I am fighting him to try and gain a sneak attack or finish off the mob first then reapply sneak.

If I get outnumbered by mobs can I run away use sneak and lose their focus if I am far enough away to lose agro?

UMD is a skill that is interesting to me. It is worth it to use wands that do damage or other such devices that cause damage or are they more for curing or healing myself of negative spell affects or granting buffs?

Melee vs. Range. Do I ever want to use ranged weapons or will I never have trouble getting into melee range?

Should I just play the game and figure out all this stuff by myself?

I am just worried about building a bad toon and not playing it right I already rerolled my toon a few times and didn't even get him to level one to fiddle with my starting stats and skills. I love the control of deciding every decision for a build so I only choose custom.

sirdanile
11-07-2009, 01:00 PM
Is just about any build viable as long as I am not trying to do things other classes can do better than me?