PDA

View Full Version : The Advice Channel That Isn't

Ardkor
11-05-2009, 07:33 PM
Minor rant, because the folks who are the root of the problem probably don't read the forum anyway, but I'm annoyed enough to post about it, so...

/rant on

I play in the mornings during the week, usually 4am to 7am, depending on my schedule.

I'm new to DDO, but I am not new to MMOs or DnD (since 1978, actually). I'm not a teenager either, in fact my kids aren't even teenagers anymore. I consider myself a mature, pleasant player, and I am not easily angered.

The Advice channel is supposed to be for helping players who have questions. On Cannith, in the mornings anyway, it's the 'argue about anything channel'. The past two days it's been religion and politics (real world in both cases, not Eberron stuff). The day before it was about transvetites and the word 'ghey'.

After being ignored on the advice channel for a while, I finally got an answer - but couldn't read it because the screen was being spammed with garbage. I literally could not scroll up fast enough to read the few lines of text someone posted in response to my questions. I asked politely if they could carry the discussion/argument into General chat or any other channel, so the Advice channel could be useful again to people who had questions.

I was told to 'shut the hell up'. Actually, they used a stronger phrase than that, but these forums don't have the same kind of filter, and I don't want to get banned from the forums.

I was called a 'chat fascist', among other even less complimentary terms. After a half dozen insults (that would get your teeth knocked out if you said them to me in person), the guy insulting me said 'just kidding of course'. That made it all OK with me, yeah, especially when he went back to spamming the channel again.

I was told that I was welcome to find another server, or even another game altogether.