PDA

View Full Version : Building a "useful" character who can also survive solo

MrSvinlesha
10-31-2009, 08:01 AM
Howdy.

I'm very new to this game and have been experimenting with a few different classes while trying to figure things out. I've gradually come to the understanding that soloing dungeons requires a character who can fight, heal, and thieve (open locks). A rather tall order.

I've read somewhere that one needs only four levels of open lock to be able to open every lock in the game. This, combined with exceptional skill points available to a rogue at level 1, makes him an attractive starting class. So I was thinking about multi-classing rogue with paladin, or some combination of paladin/fighter or ranger.

Basically I'm looking for a multi-class that will be viable for at least the first 10 levels (if not the whole distance), who can solo effectively and still be an asset in a team. I haven't earned enough favor points to unlock monk yet, and don't really want to buy anything at this point either, so I'm trying for a good 28-point build that will be fun and relatively self-sufficient.

Anyone out there got any advice for me before I go out and accidentally gimp myself into the marble jaws of oblivion?

Istaria1
10-31-2009, 09:22 AM
Hi,

I'm a new player too, so don't take this as gospel, but I am currently running a 28-point version of The Exploiter build, and it's rocking so far. Wand healing is excellent, damage is good, and utility skills are super. Only thing is that AC is a little low (as yet), but this may be down to the fact that (a) I am only level 6, and (b) better gear than I have will make a difference.

Sorry I haven't linked it, but you can find it easily enough with a forum search.

Ist.

strath
10-31-2009, 09:35 AM
Howdy.