PDA

View Full Version : New to the test server

eddie_storm
10-15-2009, 06:17 PM
Ok some of this may seem pretty obvious but as the title suggests I am new. I just started playing DDO when unlimited began, figured I would give it another chance. I did play way back in the beta before DDO came out and didn't like it too much then but a lot of things have changed and it is quite enjoyable (so much so I am a vip user now ).

On most MMO's I have played I like to play on their test servers as well and each game studio has their own style of testing. First question, Is the test server persistant? As in are there character wipes on a normal basis. If there are wipes each patch or so is there any method of generating higher level characters to test endgame and midgame changes, again if that is not the case do they allow a method of transferred live characters to do this.

If it is a persistant world are there any features to promote socialization? I created a new character and the world so far has seemed very empty. For a few levels I can manage to solo but after that a barren world is going to present a real problem in a world designed around the group mechanic.

Memnir
10-15-2009, 06:30 PM
The majority of the new content on the Test server this go around is high level, so there are not a lot of folks playing the lower levels stuff beyond trying to find some new named loot. So, you may be in for a long, hard road trying to level up a new character on Llamania.

The server itself is persistent, but not regularly available. Meaning, they've not wiped characters for some time - but they will remove our ability to access it once the current test is done. It will go back up again close to the next Mod, but that could be months after it gets locked.