PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion for a new Paladin

charmor
09-29-2009, 09:36 AM
I just started a Paladin, and I have to say I'm really enjoying it.

I like Humans (bonus feat and stat improvement freedom), but I selected Elf for the scimitar/falchion enhancements. All elven bonus features are almost useless, but I believe these weapon enchancements alone fit a Paladin very nicely, and work for both sword+board and two-handed. Just hope I not regret being Elf later..

For now I got Toughness at first level, and will get Power Attack at lvl 3 and Improved Critical at 9. Since I'm just learning about the game and the quests, I believe TWF is not a good option for a beginner, so my goal is walking around with scimitar+shield, having a falchion for those times I have to drop a boss or wizard quickly.

I would like suggestions about feats and enhancements to get as a Paladin, with the main purpose of soloing Normal instances (this is important). According to information I have, Cleave and Greate Cleave will only break up my attack chain instead of improve dps, so what about Mental Toughness for more spells, Stunning Blow, Extend Spell, the THF chain..? About enchancements, I noticed there are many good options.. too many in fact, lol. Improved AC/saves for aura of good and Divine Might are already in my list, but what about those Paladin prestige paths? And all those smite enhancements (exalted, sacrifice), worth having all of them?

tihocan
09-29-2009, 09:47 AM
I'd suggest first to look into the prestige paths and pick one you like, then make sure you can fil its prerequisites.
Feat-wise, I'd suggest the THF line if you got room for it. It will make you more useful overall, since there are many places where you'll be asked to act as a DPS machine and noone will care about your defensive abilities.

Mangloid
09-29-2009, 09:50 AM